Stack of Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Good flavor, but a pain to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
These were ok but I couldn't keep the breading on these. I tried pat drying the onions before dipping them and time and time again the breading just fell right off. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
These were better than I thought they would be. However, I did have the same problem a few others have reported as far as getting the flour to stick. What I did was mixed the flour and bread crumbs together. I dipped the onions in the egg/cream mixture and then into the flour & crumbs. It seemed to work out fine. I also used half & half since I didn't have any heavy cream but the taste was good and they were gone within a matter of minutes. I also used my deep fryer to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wareham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Use cornflake crumbs, crispier and much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I recognize that everyone else really enjoyed this recipe, but I did not. First of all, when I am eating something loaded down with fat, I want it to be AWESOME! I could NOT get the breadcrumbs to stick to the onions! I crushed the crumbs down to almost nothing, but they would not stay on the onions. I then got frustrated with that and started just coating with flour and dipping in the batter. I couldn't tell the difference between the two. My bread crumbs were soggy and stuck together; they ended up being a great treat for my dogs! When eating the rings, they were incredibly bland. Maybe if the crumbs would have stuck it would have tasted better, but that didn't work. I sprinkled with garlic salt and that seemed to give some flavor. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SistaMaggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Excellent. This was so easy and delicious. First time I have ever had luck with onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These onion rings were awesome!! So easy to make and so tasty. I didn't give them five stars because they felt like they were missing something in flavor, but I couldn't put my finger on it (my husband said they were a 4.25 rating).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I think I have tried every onion ring recipe on this site and this is my favorite so far. I didn't have the cream so I used milk instead and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
These went over very well with everybody. I was told to keep this recipe for the next onion ring craving. I followed the recipe except that I fried them in vegetable oil. I used my fry daddy with helps with the oil tempature alot. Watch them closely they cook VERY fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Primghar, Iowa, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States