Staci's Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Nice fluffy recipe. Being from Canada, I made the recipe with 8oz of back bacon. I used 7 eggs instead of 10, and it was still as fluffy as it should be. Instead of dry mustard, I used about 2 tblsp. of dijon mustard. This was an awesome recipe that I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
My mother-in-law said, "This may be the best thing I've ever eaten for breakfast." (I used ham instead of kielbasa.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
I've made several of these 'make ahead' casseroles and this is by far the best. It doesn't dry out, it's very flavorable and just the right thickness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I had a breakfast with Santa brunch today and everyone loved it...it was gone within minutes and everyone was asking for the recipe. I did change the recipe a touch by using sausage and letting the bread cubes sit out overnight to dry out a little bit. This recipe is one to save. Also, I had a second dish in the oven at the same time so it took a bit longer so the top finished before the rest so I covered it with aluminum and let it bake a little longer. This was excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crofton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Fantastic!!! I actually added crisp bacon in with ham and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. I've lost track of how many times I've made it. People at work have started asking for morning birthday parties so that I will bring this instead of a cake!I use summer sausage and it adds a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was a hit at the office. The french bread lent a nice texture, better than the white bread stratas. Also, we are blessed with many fine German and Czech sausages here in south central Texas so I used a good pork/venison garlic sausage. The nutmeg added a nice earthy flavor reminiscent of some of my favorite Norwegian recipes. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas2Step

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This was great. Followed mostly as written; I subbed mushrooms for the sausage and I cut the recipe in half (cooked it in a square 8-inch pan). Not too eggy tasting, which my boyfriend prefers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I make breakfast for 30 people once a month and this is one of the menu items. It always gets compliments and requests for the recipe. I love that it can be made the night before. I use ham. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This recipe was so easy and delicious! I made a few minor adjustments. I used the entire 13oz package of turkey kielbasa and 3/4 loaf of a 16oz Italian baguette. I also didn't have dry mustard so I substituted 1TB of prepared mustard. The strata was a tad watery after cooking but everything was fully cooked. I think next time I'll reduce the milk to 3 cups instead of 4. I also think I will chop the kielbasa into small pieces next time as well. Overall the flavor was fantastic and it was so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States