Staci's Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
I really didn't like this recipe. It was blah tasting - I kept thinking I left out something, but I didn't. I think it was because of the bread -- way too much, it drowned out everything. It looked nice, but tasted bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Made this recipe for my child's 1st communion brunch. Delicious. Plan to make it Christmas morning, as it is soooooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
I've made several of these 'make ahead' casseroles and this is by far the best. It doesn't dry out, it's very flavorable and just the right thickness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Wright

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. I've lost track of how many times I've made it. People at work have started asking for morning birthday parties so that I will bring this instead of a cake!I use summer sausage and it adds a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
It was OK. I added extra spices after reading other comments. I cut the milk in half and doubled the amount of bread. But it was still pretty soggy. I think with a little tweaking it will be a great recipe. It was very easy to put together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
My mother-in-law said, "This may be the best thing I've ever eaten for breakfast." (I used ham instead of kielbasa.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I had a breakfast with Santa brunch today and everyone loved it...it was gone within minutes and everyone was asking for the recipe. I did change the recipe a touch by using sausage and letting the bread cubes sit out overnight to dry out a little bit. This recipe is one to save. Also, I had a second dish in the oven at the same time so it took a bit longer so the top finished before the rest so I covered it with aluminum and let it bake a little longer. This was excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crofton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
The flavor of this recipe was outstanding - green onions, cheddar, cream, yum. I modified this recipe for 4, and I think the measurements the website gives don't really translate well. I couldn't get it to firm up. After an hour and a half in the oven, I gave up. And even with foil on top to keep it from burning, the top still got really tough, so really no part of it was serviceable. I'm so disappointed because like I said, it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This was great. Followed mostly as written; I subbed mushrooms for the sausage and I cut the recipe in half (cooked it in a square 8-inch pan). Not too eggy tasting, which my boyfriend prefers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
The flavor of this strata is great. I had a bit of a problem with getting all of the liquid/egg mixture to cook like some of the other reviewers. I think next time I'll reduce the liquid a bit and it should be fine. I baked it for the allotted time, then covered it with foil to prevent burning and let it cook longer. It mostly solved the problem, but it was still a bit mushy on the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States