Stacey's Fabulous Purple Potato Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by 5THSISTER
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I found this recipe and was intrigued. I decided to make this with ingredients I had on hand: Idaho rather than purple potatoes, Feta rather than Goat Cheese, and Green Onion rather than leaks. I felt these were minor modifications and am pleased to report that this lived up to its name...it is indeed FABULOUS. I was concerned about the lack of herbs and seasonings but it was perfect as written. I did top with fresh chives, from my garden, so that I could take a "pretty" picture. Thanks for this recipe as it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Despite the review that RotorTrash left (and yes, my taste buds are perfectly refined, so thank you for that), I used cheddar. The chance that a family of five on a budget will have goat cheese is slim to none. It was very, very good and my kids loved it. RotorTrash, I hope to someday use goat cheese, but in the meantime, my very refined taste buds loved the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I dont know why anyone would choose to use cheddar in this recipe over goat cheese. The cheddar would take away numerous levels of depth from the amazing flavor combinations in this beautiful gratin. If your taste buds aren't refined enough for goat cheese or you dont have it on hand, dont waste your time. This is one of the best recipes I have found on this site, My ONLY complaint is that it doesnt make nearly enough. I am bringing this to Thanksgiving dinner this year, it is sure to be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I love this recipe! What a great way to use leeks without making soup. I couldn't find purple potatoes so I used a combonation of red and yukon gold, and added shallots. I worried about the cheese, but it was perfect! We couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Perfect, easy and versatile recipe! I didn't have leeks or goat cheese, but happened to have a tub of crumbled bleu cheese in the fridge, so used that and an onion. I got rave reviews, but I think I will prefer the goat cheese - can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was a great recipe, but I made some modifications. First, I didn't have any bacon so I left that out and sauteed 2 leeks and a shallot in a combo of butter and olive oil. Then I sliced a peeled apple very thinly and threw that in with the leeks and shallot. Next I used 6 purple potatoes sliced them really thin and coated them with flour. Then I threw them in with the leek/shallots/apples. I don't know if I used too much flour or what, but the mixture was still very thick even after adding a half cup of milk, I ended up using about a cup and a quarter of milk. Then I added cheddar cheese mixed it up really well, put it in a casserole dish, topped with breadcrumbs and baked at 400 for about 35 mins. MMMM Good! Thanks for the recipe Stacey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Easy and really good...love Goat Cheese!! I didn't have leeks..used an onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I made the recipe exactly as written. Loved it!! Got mad reviews from my finicky friends. I really loved the flavor of the goat cheese. Would never think of using anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
A simple but delicious meal. This is sure to become a family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nyabing, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
First off, yum! Okay I had purple potatoes once at my parents house a few summers ago, and I fell in love. My mom had grilled them but I didn't have enough purple potatoes to grill (I also purchased them in a mixed bundle at Trader Joes), so I thought I'd try this recipe. OMG, soooo good. I couldn't follow the recipe to the T because I didn't have everything it called for but these were the changes I made: 1.) I used about 8 small/medium potatoes (not petite) purple, red & white; 2.) Instead of flour, I put them in a paper bag and tossed them with about 1/4 c. Louisianna Seasoned Chicken Fry; 3.) I didn't have leeks so I used 3 green onions instead; 3.) I didn't have goat cheese, so I too used cheddar (however I didn't measure it!). OMG, this was the best Potato Gratin I've ever had. I loved it! I think the Seasoned Chicken Fry really made the difference. I never added any salt and this tasted just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States