Stacey's Fabulous Purple Potato Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Despite the review that RotorTrash left (and yes, my taste buds are perfectly refined, so thank you for that), I used cheddar. The chance that a family of five on a budget will have goat cheese is slim to none. It was very, very good and my kids loved it. RotorTrash, I hope to someday use goat cheese, but in the meantime, my very refined taste buds loved the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Who knew cheese perference was such a controversial issue, especially in a dish that's basically peasant food. (The best kind in IMHO.) Since there are varieties of goat cheese that range from mild to pungent, and from fresh to aged, the recipe as written leaves a lot a wiggle room. Like saying use a half a cup of cow cheese. And in this recipe, that's okay because it's hard to mix potatoes, cheese and smoked pork without coming up with something that tastes wonderful. I made it with asiago, new potatoes and pancetta because that's what I had on hand. Using maple bacon and sharp cheddar would make it love letter to Vermont. Someone mentioned using feta, I think, which would make it more delicate and I'd probably pair that with Canadian bacon. Onions or scallions can be substituted for leeks. Oregon Golds for a softer texture, Reds for a firmer one. And that's what I like about this recipe. It's all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This is a great recipe! I substitued cheddar for the goat cheese and it still turned out wonderful. I will make this one over and over again! *****Made this again 10/14/2005 with the correct ingredients, and I think I prefer the cheddar I used last time over the goat cheese. I bet blue cheese would be yummy too. Used a bag of baby tri-color potatoes (purple, red, and yellow) from Trader Joe's. To the reviewer wondering what size of potatoes to use, I used potatoes that were probably 4-5 inches long the last time I made this, and it seemed to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I dont know why anyone would choose to use cheddar in this recipe over goat cheese. The cheddar would take away numerous levels of depth from the amazing flavor combinations in this beautiful gratin. If your taste buds aren't refined enough for goat cheese or you dont have it on hand, dont waste your time. This is one of the best recipes I have found on this site, My ONLY complaint is that it doesnt make nearly enough. I am bringing this to Thanksgiving dinner this year, it is sure to be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5THSISTER
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I found this recipe and was intrigued. I decided to make this with ingredients I had on hand: Idaho rather than purple potatoes, Feta rather than Goat Cheese, and Green Onion rather than leaks. I felt these were minor modifications and am pleased to report that this lived up to its name...it is indeed FABULOUS. I was concerned about the lack of herbs and seasonings but it was perfect as written. I did top with fresh chives, from my garden, so that I could take a "pretty" picture. Thanks for this recipe as it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I made the recipe exactly as written. Loved it!! Got mad reviews from my finicky friends. I really loved the flavor of the goat cheese. Would never think of using anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is so yummy! I didn't have bacon or goat cheese, so I substituted canadian bacon slices and mozzarella. Even so, the flavors are wonderful. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This potatoe dish was DELICIOUS!! A few minor comments - 1) This is not a difficult recipe, but it does take a little preparation time. 2) I used regular Idaho potatoes, and it worked fine. 3) This dish may be alittle rich for some people's taste, so just decrease the cheese and bacon or increase the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was a great recipe, but I made some modifications. First, I didn't have any bacon so I left that out and sauteed 2 leeks and a shallot in a combo of butter and olive oil. Then I sliced a peeled apple very thinly and threw that in with the leeks and shallot. Next I used 6 purple potatoes sliced them really thin and coated them with flour. Then I threw them in with the leek/shallots/apples. I don't know if I used too much flour or what, but the mixture was still very thick even after adding a half cup of milk, I ended up using about a cup and a quarter of milk. Then I added cheddar cheese mixed it up really well, put it in a casserole dish, topped with breadcrumbs and baked at 400 for about 35 mins. MMMM Good! Thanks for the recipe Stacey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
First off, yum! Okay I had purple potatoes once at my parents house a few summers ago, and I fell in love. My mom had grilled them but I didn't have enough purple potatoes to grill (I also purchased them in a mixed bundle at Trader Joes), so I thought I'd try this recipe. OMG, soooo good. I couldn't follow the recipe to the T because I didn't have everything it called for but these were the changes I made: 1.) I used about 8 small/medium potatoes (not petite) purple, red & white; 2.) Instead of flour, I put them in a paper bag and tossed them with about 1/4 c. Louisianna Seasoned Chicken Fry; 3.) I didn't have leeks so I used 3 green onions instead; 3.) I didn't have goat cheese, so I too used cheddar (however I didn't measure it!). OMG, this was the best Potato Gratin I've ever had. I loved it! I think the Seasoned Chicken Fry really made the difference. I never added any salt and this tasted just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States