Stacey's Fabulous Purple Potato Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This is a great recipe! I substitued cheddar for the goat cheese and it still turned out wonderful. I will make this one over and over again! *****Made this again 10/14/2005 with the correct ingredients, and I think I prefer the cheddar I used last time over the goat cheese. I bet blue cheese would be yummy too. Used a bag of baby tri-color potatoes (purple, red, and yellow) from Trader Joe's. To the reviewer wondering what size of potatoes to use, I used potatoes that were probably 4-5 inches long the last time I made this, and it seemed to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This potatoe dish was DELICIOUS!! A few minor comments - 1) This is not a difficult recipe, but it does take a little preparation time. 2) I used regular Idaho potatoes, and it worked fine. 3) This dish may be alittle rich for some people's taste, so just decrease the cheese and bacon or increase the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I want to try this recipe, but I'm always baffled by measurements like "8 purple potatoes." It's like saying "one onion." Sizes vary from golfball to softball size, so the flavor would certainly be affected by the size you chose. The potatoes I have on hand are very small and I don't know if purple potatoes are sold in larger sizes. A reference to weight or volume (4 cups slice for example)would be much more helpful. Has anyone who has made this give a more accurate proportion?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I also substituted cheddar for the goat cheese, and I found the flavor to be a little bland, although I think a little salt might have done the trick. This was an easy recipe, and I will try it again adding some salt and possibly more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
My family really enjoyed this recipe. My daughter put me up to buying purple potatoes and I was so happy to know that *somebody* must have a recipe to cook them. I used shredded sharp cheddar, turkey bacon and rice flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
First off, yum! Okay I had purple potatoes once at my parents house a few summers ago, and I fell in love. My mom had grilled them but I didn't have enough purple potatoes to grill (I also purchased them in a mixed bundle at Trader Joes), so I thought I'd try this recipe. OMG, soooo good. I couldn't follow the recipe to the T because I didn't have everything it called for but these were the changes I made: 1.) I used about 8 small/medium potatoes (not petite) purple, red & white; 2.) Instead of flour, I put them in a paper bag and tossed them with about 1/4 c. Louisianna Seasoned Chicken Fry; 3.) I didn't have leeks so I used 3 green onions instead; 3.) I didn't have goat cheese, so I too used cheddar (however I didn't measure it!). OMG, this was the best Potato Gratin I've ever had. I loved it! I think the Seasoned Chicken Fry really made the difference. I never added any salt and this tasted just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
A simple but delicious meal. This is sure to become a family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nyabing, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I made the recipe exactly as written. Loved it!! Got mad reviews from my finicky friends. I really loved the flavor of the goat cheese. Would never think of using anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Easy and really good...love Goat Cheese!! I didn't have leeks..used an onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was a great recipe, but I made some modifications. First, I didn't have any bacon so I left that out and sauteed 2 leeks and a shallot in a combo of butter and olive oil. Then I sliced a peeled apple very thinly and threw that in with the leeks and shallot. Next I used 6 purple potatoes sliced them really thin and coated them with flour. Then I threw them in with the leek/shallots/apples. I don't know if I used too much flour or what, but the mixture was still very thick even after adding a half cup of milk, I ended up using about a cup and a quarter of milk. Then I added cheddar cheese mixed it up really well, put it in a casserole dish, topped with breadcrumbs and baked at 400 for about 35 mins. MMMM Good! Thanks for the recipe Stacey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States