Stacey's Fabulous Purple Potato Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This is a great recipe! I substitued cheddar for the goat cheese and it still turned out wonderful. I will make this one over and over again! *****Made this again 10/14/2005 with the correct ingredients, and I think I prefer the cheddar I used last time over the goat cheese. I bet blue cheese would be yummy too. Used a bag of baby tri-color potatoes (purple, red, and yellow) from Trader Joe's. To the reviewer wondering what size of potatoes to use, I used potatoes that were probably 4-5 inches long the last time I made this, and it seemed to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is so yummy! I didn't have bacon or goat cheese, so I substituted canadian bacon slices and mozzarella. Even so, the flavors are wonderful. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I want to try this recipe, but I'm always baffled by measurements like "8 purple potatoes." It's like saying "one onion." Sizes vary from golfball to softball size, so the flavor would certainly be affected by the size you chose. The potatoes I have on hand are very small and I don't know if purple potatoes are sold in larger sizes. A reference to weight or volume (4 cups slice for example)would be much more helpful. Has anyone who has made this give a more accurate proportion?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
First off, yum! Okay I had purple potatoes once at my parents house a few summers ago, and I fell in love. My mom had grilled them but I didn't have enough purple potatoes to grill (I also purchased them in a mixed bundle at Trader Joes), so I thought I'd try this recipe. OMG, soooo good. I couldn't follow the recipe to the T because I didn't have everything it called for but these were the changes I made: 1.) I used about 8 small/medium potatoes (not petite) purple, red & white; 2.) Instead of flour, I put them in a paper bag and tossed them with about 1/4 c. Louisianna Seasoned Chicken Fry; 3.) I didn't have leeks so I used 3 green onions instead; 3.) I didn't have goat cheese, so I too used cheddar (however I didn't measure it!). OMG, this was the best Potato Gratin I've ever had. I loved it! I think the Seasoned Chicken Fry really made the difference. I never added any salt and this tasted just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I made the recipe exactly as written. Loved it!! Got mad reviews from my finicky friends. I really loved the flavor of the goat cheese. Would never think of using anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I love this recipe! What a great way to use leeks without making soup. I couldn't find purple potatoes so I used a combonation of red and yukon gold, and added shallots. I worried about the cheese, but it was perfect! We couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I dont know why anyone would choose to use cheddar in this recipe over goat cheese. The cheddar would take away numerous levels of depth from the amazing flavor combinations in this beautiful gratin. If your taste buds aren't refined enough for goat cheese or you dont have it on hand, dont waste your time. This is one of the best recipes I have found on this site, My ONLY complaint is that it doesnt make nearly enough. I am bringing this to Thanksgiving dinner this year, it is sure to be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5THSISTER
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I found this recipe and was intrigued. I decided to make this with ingredients I had on hand: Idaho rather than purple potatoes, Feta rather than Goat Cheese, and Green Onion rather than leaks. I felt these were minor modifications and am pleased to report that this lived up to its name...it is indeed FABULOUS. I was concerned about the lack of herbs and seasonings but it was perfect as written. I did top with fresh chives, from my garden, so that I could take a "pretty" picture. Thanks for this recipe as it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I made this as is and it was fantastic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as stated and thought it was awesome. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States