Stacey's Fabulous Purple Potato Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
extremely good. 8 potatoes is a sort of vague amount, so i weighed 8 average blue potatoes (which are fairly small) and came up with 1.25 lbs, which seems about right for 4 servings. i used feta, as the goat cheese i had on hand is $24/lb...not using that for peasant potatoes! a half an onion was a fine substitute for the unavailable leek, and i didn't attempt to cook the mixture together before baking - it seemed like a silly and slightly redundant idea. the end result was amazingly creamy and crispy at the same time. i will make this again with different potatoes and cheeses; i've got a block of smoked gouda that i think would be divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This was a delicious recipe for leeks which I sliced in my food processor using the 2 mm slicing blade. I drained some of the bacon fat as it was too plentiful. I used red-skinned potatoes, but they must have been larger than the recipe called for because I ended up using double the flour to coat the potato slices. I increased to one cup of milk with about 10 ounces of goat cheese. I used a larger glass dish - 9 by 13 inches. The flavor and texture was perfect and a real hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Came out mushy. Think the cooking time was off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Excellent recipe. Everyone loved it. I found that it was too much flour so it was a little too dry after baking. Minor modifications next time but go for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is so yummy! I didn't have bacon or goat cheese, so I substituted canadian bacon slices and mozzarella. Even so, the flavors are wonderful. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as stated and thought it was awesome. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I made this as is and it was fantastic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Who knew cheese perference was such a controversial issue, especially in a dish that's basically peasant food. (The best kind in IMHO.) Since there are varieties of goat cheese that range from mild to pungent, and from fresh to aged, the recipe as written leaves a lot a wiggle room. Like saying use a half a cup of cow cheese. And in this recipe, that's okay because it's hard to mix potatoes, cheese and smoked pork without coming up with something that tastes wonderful. I made it with asiago, new potatoes and pancetta because that's what I had on hand. Using maple bacon and sharp cheddar would make it love letter to Vermont. Someone mentioned using feta, I think, which would make it more delicate and I'd probably pair that with Canadian bacon. Onions or scallions can be substituted for leeks. Oregon Golds for a softer texture, Reds for a firmer one. And that's what I like about this recipe. It's all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I deducted a star not because of taste, but because this recipe should list the amount of potatoes by weight, not by quantity since potato sizes can vary greatly. That said, I doubled the recipe, used a 2 LB bag of potatoes, and baked in a 9x3 dish. I didn't have goat cheese or leeks, so used cheddar and one garden fresh shallot. I removed the bacon before adding the shallot and chopped. Once the shallot was cooked to my liking, I replaced the bacon, added the milk and cheese first (to melt and heat up easier) then the potatoes. If I ever have goat cheese I need to use up, I'll try in this recipe, but it tastes great with cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was delicious! Easily the best gratin potatos I have EVER made - this recipe will be my new stand-by for potatos. (I had to rate it 4 stars because I changed a few things - used cheddar as suggested by other reviewers, and because it was all I had on hand, and omitted the bacon since we don't eat pork). I look forward to trying it with goat cheese though - it sounds amazing. Thanks for an easy, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THATISSO8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States