Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great recipe thanks! I used it to substitute frozen whipped topping in a pie filling. It worked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Just finished making this to top off some cupcakes for Easter. Only thing I did different was dissolve the gelatin using the stove top instead of microwave. The icing came out beautiful and piped very nicely on the cupcakes. It's definitely not on the sweet side, so I can see why some may want to add additional sugar, but I love it as is and will definitely use this recipe the next time I need any sort of whipped cream! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I must of done something wrong it was horrible. I followed the steps to a "T" it piped well but the texture and taste were bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Bootz Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Godfrey, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This holds whipped cream up very well! I was making a cake and looking for something to stablilize the whipped cream on it. I was looking for something similar for cream pies also in the future. Whipped cream just beated tends to melt in the fridge and I wanted to use it for piping. I followed the recipe exactly. I did find that the gelatin has to be used as soon as it gets to the slightly cool state because it will harden quickly. When I poured it in a stream on the cream it seemed fine. But, after I tasted the final product I did notice some small semi soft beads of gelatin in it. I doubt though that others would notice that though, but I did I think because I knew it was in there. I thought the taste was good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I needed 16 oz of whipping cream so I doubled the gelatin but left the water at 1/4 cup, 30 seconds was fine in my microwave. The trick to this recipe is to make sure the bowl, beaters and cream are ice cold, they set the gelatin as it cools it. I added the gelatin when I had soft peaks, then kept whipping for about 1 more minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This recipe is a bit difficult. I found that adding the gelatin when the beater marks began to show was way too early. I could not get any more air into my shipped cream Next time... and there will be a next time... I'll wait longer. I used the lesser amount of water and more vanilla. Tasted yummy even though the consistency was not what I was after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Fantastic, quick and easy! Whoever said it was runny, was wrong. I let mine like 5 minutes in the fridge and it was almost too stiff. I needed 2 batches to frost an 8" 2-layer vanilla cake and pipe a few rosettes on the top and make a little border. I will be using this again and again! Bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
just perfect whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Perfect! Used it on Jenny's Black forest cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was exactly what I was looking for to put on a chocolate cream pie. I mistakenly thought it called for the whole packet of gelatin, which turned out okay because the 3 minutes was way too long for my microwave, when I went to stir it after a minute it had bubbled over and spilled everywhere, so I'm not sure how much I actually used, but it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States