Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Tasted great and looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
The 3 stars for this recipe is for the method written. For 5 stars I made the following changes on the second batch I made: Skip the water and use about 1/4 cup of cream to soften the gelatin. Placed in the micro for 15 seconds is plenty to warm and dissolve the gelatin. Do this while the remaining cream is whipping in the mixer -SLOWLY. Once the cream has thickened and begins to form "waves" add your sugar slowly (I used 1/2 cup powdered sugar - makes for a much smoother, non gritty, texture than the granulated sugar gives) and beat until it forms firm peaks. Then stream in the cooled gelatin but on low speed. Once blended stop mixing. Chill for 30 minutes then frost away! This can now be piped, spread or used between layers. I used on top of an ice cream cake and it froze perfectly. I also piped a decorative border on pumpkin pie. Wonderful fresh taste. Great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I only make about 10 cakes a year for other people, so I'm far from a pro! This time the order was for whipped frosting, which I've never made. I tried a few, and this one turned out best! I used 50% power in the microwave for 30 sec, stuck it in the freezer while I beat the other ingredients (on low as suggested on several other recipes to make tiny uniform bubbles that won't pop). When I was done mixing, the gelatin was cool and I added that in. I kept tasting it and adding more sugar (I used all confectioner) and ended up using about a cup to make it frosting sweet. The consistency turned out perfect. I was able to make basic decorations with big tips, and once I put the cake in the refrigerator it kept it's shape for 24 hours, then for another 2 hours during a birthday party at room temp. before it got eaten. I made a 10' and 8' round tiered cake and needed 3x this recipe to finish the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This works! I initially tried to follow some of the suggestions in the comments, but I think the real directions were better. The gelatin needs that 1/4 cup of water and it absolutely needs to be heated to dissolve. In fact, I almost gave up because I mixed up the gelatin in a small amount of cold water and it was just a glue ball. I almost threw it out, then decided to microwave it as directed. I did that and it worked beautifully. No more glops! It took waaay longer than 10 minutes to cool, tho. At least an hour. In fact, do that first so you're not waiting for the gelatin to cool. Also, I made the mistake of frosting the cake right after whipping this up. I needed to have refrigerated the whipped cream to make it sturdy enough to use for cake layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
i used this for a tiramasu cake. easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSW00DY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
As much as I love the idea of stabilizing whipped cream, I have to say that following the recipe ruined my whipped cream icing, because the gelatin got overcooked in 3 minutes in the microwave. I think 30 sec - 1 min would have been enough. But I didn't have time to redo the gelatin, so I sent it with my daughter to school, with lumps of gelatin in it. Yuk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was pretty good. I did not heat the gelatin but rather just put it in the cold water and then added it to the mix. I used 2 t gelatin 1/4 cup confecitonars sugar and 2 t vanilla extract. I will probally add more vanilla next time. it was just like frosting though and still tasted good. I might also next time go with one of the half cream cheese half whipped cream frostings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I am a caterer and this method is invaluable, especially in the summer months. it is the ONLY recipe for stabilized whipped cream that I have tried,that doesn't have little flecks of hardened gelatin through the cream. I don't use it only for "icing"; also for topping pies and shortcakes, etc. it keeps in the refrigerator for a couple of days without breaking down at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This recipe isn't so great; it waters down the cream with water and gelatin! You don't need 1/4 c. water, only a Tablespoon or two, and you should only need 1/2 tsp. gelatin per cup of heavy cream. In this context, you don't ever want to boil the gelatin, and you shouldn't stir it (it causes it to lump) until mixing it with the cream. In order to prevent stringing or balling in the cream, you should temper it by mixing a small amount of cream into the gelatin first, then adding it to the rest. This can be a tricky process, but these little hints make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This makes a really nice topping. Was a bit messy for cupcakes but would do great on a cake or pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States