Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Thought this had to much of a flour taste. I have made something similar to this using cornstarch instead of flour.Think that would work better ,then wouldn't get the flour taste. Had to do a lot of tweaking to get rid of flour taste. Good texture though. Not very sweet if u like a sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
SO happy that I found a whipped cream recipe that allows my whipped cream to sit! I piped this onto cupcakes, refrigerated the cupcakes overnight and they have been sitting at room temperature for about 5 hours now and the whipped cream frosting is still set! Few changes: use 1/2 tsp gelatin powder with 1 tbsp cold water for every cup of cream, use powdered sugar (you won't get the granules and it also has corn starch which also allows the whipped cream to set), microwave the gelatin mixture for about 15 seconds -- 3 minutes is crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sapna Bhatia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is soooo good!! I made a white layered cake in between the layers I made a strawberry filling and wanted a light frosting I did use strawberry jello mix instead of unflavored. Delicious!!! I will use this recipe again most defiently!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Worked perfectly for the french silk pie that I made. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spoonnlime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
i dont use the microwave at all i just dissolve the gelatin in cold water then add some hot water then wait til it is almost cool to start mixing the cream..and add it at the end then refrigerate it for a while then use it...this is my method and works everytime...i always wondered how to use real cream and make it so it didnt melt right away...this is how the chefs do it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I didn't think this was difficult at all, although, I admit, I probably didn't "nuke" it the full time OR let it cool the full time. I agree it could use a little more sugar. The second time I made it, I used 1/4 cup 10x sugar -- my kids RAVED about it!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennelle Cyr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Urbana, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I don't know what I did wrong but this did not work for me. I read through a lot of reviews and figured I could make this work. I was wrong. before I even microwaved the water gel mix it had solidified. and started to harden before it cooled (I did not microwave for the instructed time) and ended up with clumps of gel in my icing. I'll keep searching for a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It never caused my whipped cream to set up. The only reason I tried it was that I couldn't find my clear piping gel. That works like a dream. I did finally find the gel and remade the recipe that I usually do,the one by Wilton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjtaybaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Did not work for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe was very easy to make. I used it to frost a buttermilk cake and the frosting held up in 90 degree weather. The only thing I did different was to put the gelatin in the fridge to cool and test it every couple of minutes to make sure it didn't set. Once it was cool I added it to the cream mixture. I also added some powered sugar to make it sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States