Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I used this variaton and it was perfect!!! ~2 teaspoons gelatin, 4 teaspoons cold water, 1 cup heavy whipping cream, 1/4 cup confectioners' sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.... Combine gelatin and cold water. Whip the cream, and add confectioner's sugar. Add gelatin mixture and vanilla extract. Continue whipping until the gelatin is incorporated. Lovely firm texture and beautifully spreadable. I stuck it in the freezer for a short time to firm the icing a little more. It came out splendidly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
448 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
I've made this icing several times now and it's excellent. Holds up very well. Can even be piped through a bag for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
This recipe was a bit tricky for a complete novice using an electric beater... It tastes good (like whipped cream), but cooking the gelatin for 3 mins. and leaving it out for 10 was too long and it solidified a bit leaving some scattered gel-balls throughout. Next time, I'll know to heat the gelatin for slightly shorter and leave it out for a little less time as well. I'm going to keep playing with this as it seems like it has potential for good decorating (I made stars, leafs, and writing with it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I had to tweak this A LOT to get it to work. There isn't enough sugar or gelatin. Here's what I did instead: 2 teaspoons gelatin, 4 teaspoons cold water, 1 cup heavy whipping cream, 1/4 cup confectioners' sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.... Combine gelatin and cold water. Whip the cream, and add confectioner's sugar. Add gelatin mixture and vanilla extract. Continue whipping until the gelatin is incorporated. Heating gelatin in the microwave never works for me, so I heat mine on the stovetop. Less mess, more consistent result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I tried this 3 times. But i didnt put the gelatin in the microwave for 3 min. because it bubbled up after 30 seconds and made a mess. So what i did was just watch it until it started to bubble and then i let it cool for about 10 min. and that worked fine the first and third time but the second time i tried it i didnt wait long enough for it to cool and the cream got all lumpy and seperated so i think the key is just to make sure the gelatin is cool enough. If anyone can explain why its important to leave the gelatin in the microwave for the full 3 min I'd thank you very much bc if it makes a big difference i will have to try it again in a bowl big enough so that it doesnt spill over when it boils. OH! and anybody who is gonna make this should know that it is only enough for a small one layer cake. I iced a 2 layer cake and one cup of cream was only enough to ice the sides, that is why i had to make the extra batches. Good luck everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I made a double batch of this cream and it was plenty to 'ice' a triple layer 8" and a sqaure 8x8. You must definitely keep this cream very cold, otherwise it will just fall apart on your cake. It definitely needs more sugar. I doubled the amount called for and it still tasted more like a cream I would put on berries or pie rather than what I would decorate a cake with. Probably more flovring wouldn't hurt either. It's still not stiff enough to decorate with. I'm a cake decorator and the whipped icing I use is at least double the consistency of this cream, at its softest. This is a great cream for berries and pies, good fresh taste, but just not what I was expecting based on the description....UPDATE 9/1/10...This is way off the base of the recipe here, but I discovered a great way to stabilize the whipped 'just enough' so that it could be piped at least into rosettes for decorating a pie or the side of a bundt. I took 1 cup of the whipping cream and added 1 cup of a non-dairy liquid icing called Rich's Bettercream (if you've ever had an ice cream cake from Dairy Queen, this is the whipped icing that is used) and simply poured them together into my Kitchen Aid and blended until I could see the stiff peaks from the whipping cream. This turned out great! The flavor was perfect since there is lots of sugar and vanilla in the Rich's already. And by using half whipping cream, plain, the flavors balanced out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Bakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
Really good if you prefer whipped cream over frostings that are too sweet. Can be flavored with instant coffee, chocolate or peanut butter, or use your own stir-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Very easy, held up extemely well! I used confectioner's sugar, and added about 4 times what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I must admit, I had to take a couple of tries at this to get it right wasting ingredients which I hate to do but I was determined to accomplight this. I tried the original recipe instructions and found that the microwave method just didn't work for me. So, I took the advice of the first reviewer "HeatherLovesBudgies" and it worked for me. And, while I'm not sure if I'd make this again I'm happy for the learning experience...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Really great when you don't want your whipped cream to weep all over the place. I used it to frost a jelly roll and it came out perfectly and held beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States