Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I read through a ton of these reviews and felt I was making an informed decision when I opted to use the 2 tsps of gelatin rather than the 1 tsp called for. I certainly got a nice firm whipped topping that piped onto my 4th of July Strawberry Trifle. Too firm actually, it was reminiscent of caulking and not the soft, gental peaks of cream I was hoping for. Next time I'll know better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This IS NOT frosting, it is stabilized, whipped cream. You can put the gelatin and water in a very small dish and place that in some hot water to dissolve it, if you can't get the hang of the microwave. I have been using this for a long time, and it's works out well if you follow the directions, and do not overbeat the cream. I always add 1/4 C powdered sugar, as this does not seem like enough. I have used it on cakes, key lime pie, strawberry pie, along side of a molten lava cake, and to decorate the top of cheesecakes. Of course, anything made with this must be refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This is excellent. I added your recommended amount of gelatine to my regular sweetened whipped cream recipe and it worked like a dream! The whipped cream stays put, is easier to manipulate and holds its shape. Also no effect at all on the taste. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetjunkie
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly as indicated and it turned out wonderfully. It's a great recipe if you want a frosting that is not overpoweringly sweet, and it holds up well. I substituted coconut extract for the vanilla and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and my gelatin mixture lumped up when I combined it with the cream. Definitely needed more sugar. I ended up picking out all the lumps and piped it onto cupcakes. It was perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I so wanted to be the one who gives this recipe a five, but unfortunately, it didnt work out so well for me either. Unlike other reviewers, I do not expect this to taste differently from whipped cream. It IS whipped cream!! I just wanted it to stand stiffer for a whipped cream. Mine came out a little grainy, without over beating it. I always make whipped cream, and I know you shouldn't over beat it. It got grainy after I added the gelatin. Maybe I did something wrong, so I am willing to try it again, and change my rating if it works out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
It must be the gelatin in it but this tasted just like Coolwhip to me. I love the way heavy cream tastes when it's whipped fresh but this had that weird after taste to it. For all the steps involved, and the cost of the ingredients, I will probably buy CoolWhip next time I need this. I was kind of disappointed! Also- you should note that this has a very lose consistancy until you put it in the fridge to firm up. I actually made it twice because I thought I did it wrong the first time since it was so runny. An hour later, both batches were like Jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I've used this twice now and it's worked out great both times....definitely dissolve the gelatin slowly in a pan on the stove, takes moments and works better. I don't add extra sugar b/c I use it on an extra rich chocolate cake which makes a nice counterpoint to the not too sweet icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I took advice from others and altered this a bit. I used 2t gelatin to 1/4 c water. I did not use the microwave as it tends to heat too quickly and boils over. Instead I disolved it on the stove top over very low heat. Once it had disolved and while the gelatin was cooling I started whipping the cream 1 cup with 1/4 cup powdered sugar and 1 t vanilla. Came out nicely. Not very sweet. If you like you could add more sugar. Word of advice, use this quickly. As it sits it becomes harder to spread it smoothly. Overall I liked it and think I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cakebuilder
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This is a really great recipe for decorating with a piping bag. I added about 1 Tbsp of instant coffee granules to the gelatin/water mixture right after I pulled it out of the microwave. I found that the coffee really cut the sweetness of the icing, so I ended up adding extra sifted powdered sugar (maybe about 1/4 cup) until the icing was sweet enough for me. I used this icing on the chocolate mocha cake I and they were very good together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakebuilder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States