Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by IYAKAMAE
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This was a great recipe as long as I only made one batch of icing. As soon as I tried to make a multi-batch, it was all down him. The icing was slightly thin. I don't know if that was right or not. It held really well though all things considered. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I like this recipe because I can now always use real whipped cream for all recipes and not cool whip (which I don't really like). I waited too long with the gelatin so I got some lumps, but it still tasted good. I will have to make it a few more times to work out the kinks. I just need to find the perfect time when the gelatin is still runny but not too warm to melt the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This recipe was perfect for the French Silk Pie I recipe from this site. It tastes like whipped cream but is just firm enough to use to decorate like frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I know the gelatin wasn't right when it coagulated. Don't use the suggestion for 2 tsp of gelatin! Nice recipe! Follow as directed. 3 minutes is not necessary. Keep stirriing gelatin at 30 second intervals until melted. It should be liquid when adding to the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This worked beautifully! Two small things: Did a double batch so used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 confectioners. Don't know that it really made any difference. Also, dissolved the gelatin on the stove, I felt like I had more control over it than in the micro. It spread and handled perfectly though even in my chilly PA kitchen I did feel like i had to work fast. After frosting, I set it in the fridge and it set up and STAYED set up! I have an angel food/raspberry cake I make whipping cream for frosting and will be using this in the future. One note....flavoring (vanilla) can be switched up to suit the need of the cake or omitted all together. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lithium3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Quick and easy. Piped well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Although I should have doubled the recipe for my cake, when I followed this recipe exactly it was perfect. Not the Kroger icing I was looking for but still very good. I wanted some red icing so I made a second patch and tried using flavored gelatin...that did not turn out well at all. I will use this recipe again and again. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
For me it worked great without the gelatin. Couldn't figure that stuff out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trocks
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I tried making this using cold water and also go the lumps of gelatin in my frosting and had to throw it away. I didn't have any problems microwaving it but didn't do it for the full 3 minutes and stopped every 30 seconds to stir. I used 1/4 cup of powdered sugar instead of the 1 tablespoon white sugar and it was a perfect amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YummyCook
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
My long search is over! I love this frosting. It's absolutely perfect, and if you've ever had birthday cakes from Chinese bakeries, THIS is identical to the frosting on those cakes. It's light, and not too sweet. I will never use butter frosting for my white cakes ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States