Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Quick and easy. Piped well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Although I should have doubled the recipe for my cake, when I followed this recipe exactly it was perfect. Not the Kroger icing I was looking for but still very good. I wanted some red icing so I made a second patch and tried using flavored gelatin...that did not turn out well at all. I will use this recipe again and again. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
For me it worked great without the gelatin. Couldn't figure that stuff out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trocks
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I tried making this using cold water and also go the lumps of gelatin in my frosting and had to throw it away. I didn't have any problems microwaving it but didn't do it for the full 3 minutes and stopped every 30 seconds to stir. I used 1/4 cup of powdered sugar instead of the 1 tablespoon white sugar and it was a perfect amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YummyCook
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
My long search is over! I love this frosting. It's absolutely perfect, and if you've ever had birthday cakes from Chinese bakeries, THIS is identical to the frosting on those cakes. It's light, and not too sweet. I will never use butter frosting for my white cakes ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Simply awesome - my family loved it! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKTRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Used this on the Hungarian Flourless Hazelnut Cake. Perfect! I've been looking for this for years. Really stands up (last slice of cake was eaten 3 days later, and cream was still good). I flavored with 1 tbs. Amaretto, and a good time was had by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elfgirl1968
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Good recipe. I heated my gelatin in a double broiler instead of the microwave. I also wanted mine a bit sweeter, so I added 3 - 4 tablespoons of 10x powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corralitos, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by robograndma
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I have to give this recipe 4 stars as is, with a few changes it’s a Five. After reading other reviews I mixed the gelatin in a small glass bowl of cool water if you add it slowly it will almost mix itself. Then heat in microwave on half power (about 500 watts) for 10 sec. this worked wonderful for me. Do chill the beaters and bowl. Allow gelatin to cool a bit then follow the recipe as written. I used spenda run through a grinder to make it carb. and sugar free. It was just what I needed to make mother in laws reduced sugar birthday cake look like it was "cheating". Thank you ETHELMERTZ this is as close as I am going to get to the commercial whipped topping used on the low sugar cakes at the mall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Photo by TwinkyMara
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
What a GREAT recipe to use for decorators! It held up really well to my decorating needs. It never tried to ooze over or anything! It was very fluffy and just perfect. I did however use a tub of cool whip in place of the whipping cream which made it SUPER easy! I will only be doing that from now on as a matter of fact because it made the whole process so simple. I also used a mixture of almond extract and vanilla because my family loves my almond icing. The other big plus about this recipe is that I could not ask for a better cleanup! NO grease or lard to pick out of my decorating tips, just ran under hot water until it melted and washed with soap and water! Didn't even have to pull out my brush cleaner. I am so happy about this recipe that I may never make buttercream again (unless asked to)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwinkyMara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States