Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I had great success with this recipe. I made this true so there were no variations. I doubled the recipe so it would work on a 9X13 cake. My cake was extra sweet with caramel and candy so this topping was a great compliment as it was not too sweet. You can add extra sugar if it is warranted. I was very happy it held up for my gift the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This turned out great. Creamy and delicious just like the store bought cakes. Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe!! The whipped cream forms gorgeous peaks and stays that way for days on a pie without even beginning to weep or break down. I followed the advice of another user and let the 1 tsp of gelatin bloom in cool water for 5 minutes, then microwaved for 10 seconds on 50% power. I then placed the gelatin mixture in the freezer just while I beat the cream and when I was ready to add the gelatin, it was the perfect temperature and beat in exactly right. I used 1/4 confectionery sugar, and then added a bit more at the end as I like it a bit sweeter than this recipe had. GREAT recipe! Will use this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Ethel, I love ya honey! This is the bomb for layering fancy cakes. For simpler tastes, try layering it between yellow cake with strawberry and blueberries. It's fantastic and the stablized creme holds up beautifully. Eat yer heart out Cake Boss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Use this recipe whenever I make a whipped topping ahead of time and need it to stay thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Tasted good, but I was hoping it would firm up a little more. It was soft for piping from a pastry bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I probably did something wrong but there were tiny clumps of gelatin in it. I couldnt get it smooth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Since I have never made whipped cream before, it took me a couple tries to figure it all out but in the end it worked out perfectly. I did, however, double this recipe and add about 1/4 to 1/2 cup of powdered sugar instead of the one tablespoon of "white sugar".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This worked out beautifully for me. I really love that you can use this icing to frost/decorate with. Used it on my key lime pie and it looked great! I did as one reviewer suggested and first slowly poured the gelatin into cool water, gave it a stir and let it soften for about 5 minutes, then I popped it in the microwave for 10 seconds on 50% power and by the time I had my cream all whipped, the gelatin was cool enough to add to whipped cream mixture. I would not recommend using more than 1 tsp for this as it sets up really nicely with 1 and any more would make it too stiff, IMO. Thanks for sharing...this will be my go to recipe from now on. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Paramount, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
There needs to be a warning regarding texture of icing, when I initially finished I had decided the texture was too loose and couldnt use it for the cake I was decorating, about 5 minutes of it sitting on the counter my husband went to run his fingers through it and it had set up, if I'd have known that initially this would have gotten 5 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States