Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I didn't think this was difficult at all, although, I admit, I probably didn't "nuke" it the full time OR let it cool the full time. I agree it could use a little more sugar. The second time I made it, I used 1/4 cup 10x sugar -- my kids RAVED about it!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingDiva_Want2B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Urbana, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I don't know what I did wrong but this did not work for me. I read through a lot of reviews and figured I could make this work. I was wrong. before I even microwaved the water gel mix it had solidified. and started to harden before it cooled (I did not microwave for the instructed time) and ended up with clumps of gel in my icing. I'll keep searching for a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It never caused my whipped cream to set up. The only reason I tried it was that I couldn't find my clear piping gel. That works like a dream. I did finally find the gel and remade the recipe that I usually do,the one by Wilton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjtaybaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Did not work for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe was very easy to make. I used it to frost a buttermilk cake and the frosting held up in 90 degree weather. The only thing I did different was to put the gelatin in the fridge to cool and test it every couple of minutes to make sure it didn't set. Once it was cool I added it to the cream mixture. I also added some powered sugar to make it sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I just made it with some sugar-free lemon jello. Came out beautiful - light yellow in color. I did forego the water and used 1/4 c heavy cream instead. Just makes more sense that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robbybaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Perfect for the topping of my banana cream pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This worked great! I love whipped cream as a frosting for cakes but it would always melt so quickly! The gelatin really does the trick! The whipped cream holds up really nicely using this recipe! Unfortunately my decoratings skills don't do this recipe justice! lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Perfect whipped cream icing. I followed the recipe, with the exception of melting the gelatin on the stove. It is not too sweet and the consistency was perfect after refrigerating the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slowcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
DOUBLE YOUR RECIPE :) This recipe as is will make maybe?? 2 cups and I prefer more due to many "testers" in the kitchen. I used 3 Tbsp confectioners sugar and its just right. If you want the outcome of a very sweet icing, then you should add more. Why not? I stirred the gelatin at 30 second intervals for 2 minutes and I think it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States