Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe!! The whipped cream forms gorgeous peaks and stays that way for days on a pie without even beginning to weep or break down. I followed the advice of another user and let the 1 tsp of gelatin bloom in cool water for 5 minutes, then microwaved for 10 seconds on 50% power. I then placed the gelatin mixture in the freezer just while I beat the cream and when I was ready to add the gelatin, it was the perfect temperature and beat in exactly right. I used 1/4 confectionery sugar, and then added a bit more at the end as I like it a bit sweeter than this recipe had. GREAT recipe! Will use this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Ethel, I love ya honey! This is the bomb for layering fancy cakes. For simpler tastes, try layering it between yellow cake with strawberry and blueberries. It's fantastic and the stablized creme holds up beautifully. Eat yer heart out Cake Boss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Use this recipe whenever I make a whipped topping ahead of time and need it to stay thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Tasted good, but I was hoping it would firm up a little more. It was soft for piping from a pastry bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I probably did something wrong but there were tiny clumps of gelatin in it. I couldnt get it smooth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Since I have never made whipped cream before, it took me a couple tries to figure it all out but in the end it worked out perfectly. I did, however, double this recipe and add about 1/4 to 1/2 cup of powdered sugar instead of the one tablespoon of "white sugar".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This worked out beautifully for me. I really love that you can use this icing to frost/decorate with. Used it on my key lime pie and it looked great! I did as one reviewer suggested and first slowly poured the gelatin into cool water, gave it a stir and let it soften for about 5 minutes, then I popped it in the microwave for 10 seconds on 50% power and by the time I had my cream all whipped, the gelatin was cool enough to add to whipped cream mixture. I would not recommend using more than 1 tsp for this as it sets up really nicely with 1 and any more would make it too stiff, IMO. Thanks for sharing...this will be my go to recipe from now on. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Paramount, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
There needs to be a warning regarding texture of icing, when I initially finished I had decided the texture was too loose and couldnt use it for the cake I was decorating, about 5 minutes of it sitting on the counter my husband went to run his fingers through it and it had set up, if I'd have known that initially this would have gotten 5 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Photo by IYAKAMAE
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This was a great recipe as long as I only made one batch of icing. As soon as I tried to make a multi-batch, it was all down him. The icing was slightly thin. I don't know if that was right or not. It held really well though all things considered. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I like this recipe because I can now always use real whipped cream for all recipes and not cool whip (which I don't really like). I waited too long with the gelatin so I got some lumps, but it still tasted good. I will have to make it a few more times to work out the kinks. I just need to find the perfect time when the gelatin is still runny but not too warm to melt the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States