Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This holds whipped cream up very well! I was making a cake and looking for something to stablilize the whipped cream on it. I was looking for something similar for cream pies also in the future. Whipped cream just beated tends to melt in the fridge and I wanted to use it for piping. I followed the recipe exactly. I did find that the gelatin has to be used as soon as it gets to the slightly cool state because it will harden quickly. When I poured it in a stream on the cream it seemed fine. But, after I tasted the final product I did notice some small semi soft beads of gelatin in it. I doubt though that others would notice that though, but I did I think because I knew it was in there. I thought the taste was good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I needed 16 oz of whipping cream so I doubled the gelatin but left the water at 1/4 cup, 30 seconds was fine in my microwave. The trick to this recipe is to make sure the bowl, beaters and cream are ice cold, they set the gelatin as it cools it. I added the gelatin when I had soft peaks, then kept whipping for about 1 more minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This recipe is a bit difficult. I found that adding the gelatin when the beater marks began to show was way too early. I could not get any more air into my shipped cream Next time... and there will be a next time... I'll wait longer. I used the lesser amount of water and more vanilla. Tasted yummy even though the consistency was not what I was after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Fantastic, quick and easy! Whoever said it was runny, was wrong. I let mine like 5 minutes in the fridge and it was almost too stiff. I needed 2 batches to frost an 8" 2-layer vanilla cake and pipe a few rosettes on the top and make a little border. I will be using this again and again! Bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
just perfect whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Perfect! Used it on Jenny's Black forest cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was exactly what I was looking for to put on a chocolate cream pie. I mistakenly thought it called for the whole packet of gelatin, which turned out okay because the 3 minutes was way too long for my microwave, when I went to stir it after a minute it had bubbled over and spilled everywhere, so I'm not sure how much I actually used, but it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I had great success with this recipe. I made this true so there were no variations. I doubled the recipe so it would work on a 9X13 cake. My cake was extra sweet with caramel and candy so this topping was a great compliment as it was not too sweet. You can add extra sugar if it is warranted. I was very happy it held up for my gift the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This turned out great. Creamy and delicious just like the store bought cakes. Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe!! The whipped cream forms gorgeous peaks and stays that way for days on a pie without even beginning to weep or break down. I followed the advice of another user and let the 1 tsp of gelatin bloom in cool water for 5 minutes, then microwaved for 10 seconds on 50% power. I then placed the gelatin mixture in the freezer just while I beat the cream and when I was ready to add the gelatin, it was the perfect temperature and beat in exactly right. I used 1/4 confectionery sugar, and then added a bit more at the end as I like it a bit sweeter than this recipe had. GREAT recipe! Will use this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States