Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Decent recipe, great idea. Be extremely careful with gelatin because it will stick to anything and everything and form bumps in your icing if you don't pay attention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Cui

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I love how some people alter the recipes and get a unique and delicious result, I however did not, I made the stabilized whipped cream frosting just as the recipe calls and I was very happy with the results. A delicious light and fluffy frosting. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Baldwin Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Superb recipe although I followed HeatherLovesBudgies's way of doing it. I've made this with unflavoured gelatin as well as flavoured jello powder instead of the gelatin - works like a charm! For those who can't find her review easily here's an extract from it: " ~2 teaspoons gelatin, 4 teaspoons cold water, 1 cup heavy whipping cream, 1/4 cup confectioners' sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.... Combine gelatin and cold water. Whip the cream, and add confectioner's sugar. Add gelatin mixture and vanilla extract. Continue whipping until the gelatin is incorporated. Lovely firm texture and beautifully spreadable. I stuck it in the freezer for a short time to firm the icing a little more. It came out splendidly!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
1/4 cup of water seems too much for the gelatin. I use 1 Tbs Gelatin with 4 tsp. water. I put mine in the microwave for 30 seconds stirring every 15 seconds. Set aside to cool to room temp. Or you can set the bowl or cup of gelatin in a pan of simmering water stirring until gelatin is dissolved and cool to room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe. Cooks illustrated recommends using gelatin for their whipped cream frosting. This frosting held up great and I was able to pour a ganache like frosting and it stayed on the top of the cake making it look beautiful. I wish it was just a little more sweet. Maybe next time I could try more sugar. I doubled the recipe andI ended up using 3 out of the 4 cups. Doubling the recipe uses the whole packet of gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I just made the icing. Found the 10 minute sit time for the gelatin was too long. It hardened on me but I put it in microwave for 10 seconds to liquefy it again. It tastes great and pipes well too but personally I would of preferred it to be a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
so I made this twice in 2 different ways. The first was with dairy cream and this recipe had to be tweaked to 2 tsp gelatin and 4 tsp water to 1 cup heavy whipping cream. Not sure how much extra sugar we added because we added it to taste. The second way I used coconut cream from canned coconut. Separate the cream from the liquid by chilling cans in your fridge. Get 1 cup coconut cream (can be different for each can/manufacturer). 1 c coconut cream, 3 Tbsp gelatin 1/4 c water. This was done through trial and error but essentially turned out almost exactly the same as the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I sort of used this + the Whipped Cream Mousse Frosting on this site, got a rich firm frosting - the gelatin is a tricky detail to get right. After a while - learned to do the gelatin first - so it's cooled when the rest of process is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
There was bits of gelatin in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
It actually held up well. I was very surprised. I added about a tablespoon extra of sugar because it wasn't sweet enough. I loved it! I will definitely be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States