St. Patrick's Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
The recipe was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was devoured by the entire family. Served it with a salad. This will be in my family recipe book. Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Every Ervery Good...I thought at first my head of cabbage was way to much for the 3 pounds potatoes.....nope worked out very well. I love this dish....My neighbors as well. I'm not going to count my son on this, we already new he doesn't like corn beef. But it was superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was very tasty. I forgot to salt the cabbages' cooking water, so salt was added to the hot milk; this allowed the salt to dissolve & be incorporated when folding all ingredients together. Digestion tip: Raw onions/scallions contain enzymes that help digest cooked potatoes, so always a good idea to add them somehow in raw form ~ as a garnish in this case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Nom nom nom...SOOOO good!!! I made it to recipe except I used smoked ham instead of corned beef...I LOVE it. I'm Irish, so I appreciate authentic recipes ;) Next time, I'm thinking about pastrami...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was excellent! I've made again with cottage roll ham which was equally as good. I absolutely love red potatoes. So now when i'm boiling potatoes, half way through cooking, I add chopped up cabbage, strain and mash together with the butter, milk and pepper. What a great way to get everyone to eat cooked cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Kale tastes better than cabbage & is more traditional. I prefer using bacon rather than corned beef or leaving it out all together and having the colannon along side sliced corned beef. Personal preference is for the red potatoes used here rather than peeling all those Irish white potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucy
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I thought this recipe was incredible. I had never had it before. I followed the recipe exactly and my entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Great comfort food. I doubled the corned beef and added 1 T of salt and some sauteed sweet onion w/butter to add a bit more flavor. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I've never had colcannon before but it tastes yummy to me. I used bacon instead of cornbeef (didn't have any) and cooked the onions and garlic in the bacon grease along with the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States