St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is a very rich dessert. I just thought it was ok, it didn't have a homemade or fresh taste to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I made these for St. Patrick's day and they are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My daughter who loves all things mint-y absolutely loved these. I did change the recipe a bit. Apparently after Christmas my small town doesn't carry the dark chocolate and mint chips! So I had to use Andes pieces or something like that. Also instead of the pre-made cream cheese frosting I made my own using Cream Cheese Frosting II from AR. Then just measured out 16 oz. It worked fabulously. Lots of steps in the recipe but it goes quickly. Mine didn't crack or fall at all, I did have my cream cheese at room temp so maybe that helped. They actually came out very nice. But when I was putting them in the fridge I dropped them right onto the floor!!! Lucky for me I had them covered so at least they could still be eaten they were just really ugly after that :( But tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I made this for my friends and said it was out of this world. Did use Andes mints since I couldn't find the other. Added them after baking. Cut in the morning and then drizzled melted chips over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This recipe is very sweet. Also, I ended up adding quite a bit of mint flavoring to the cheese filling mixture because I could not taste the mint at first when I only added what the recipe called for. In the end, I added too much mint flavoring, so it is a sensitive process. Other than that, delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Many of you have stated that your bars "fell" If you have never made a cheesecake before ( have made 100's of them)...they always "fall". Out of the oven the cake is puffy but as your cake cools it falls in and becomes the dense deliciousness of a cheesecake. That is supposed to happen, it is not your mistake or a bad recipe. And yes chilling them overnight will improve the flavor and texture of your cake/bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachelanne
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Since this was a rather annoying issue for me, I feel I ought to point this out now since no one else has. I had a difficult time trying to cut decent squares after the chips had re-hardened in the fridge. Maybe it was that I let it cool overnight, or maybe not, but next time I will cut them before placing in the fridge and see if it works better. If not, maybe adding them after chilling instead. This small problem aside, I was rather impressed at how well my first foray into cheesecake-making turned out. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this the other day and I thought it turned out ok but my cheesecake loving husband liked it. Mine also fell and I'm not sure why. When I pulled the cheesecake out of the oven it was nice and puffy but then after about 10 minutes it fell and it definitely wasn't as thick as when I poured it in places. I couldn't find candy flavoring anywhere and had to try to use extract and I didn't think it came out very minty after using 1 and 1/8th teaspoons of extract. Another more important note I found out in the middle of making this...Betty Crocker cake mixes don't always come in the 18.25 oz package the recipe called for mine was only 15 oz and the one cup also wasn't enough to cover the top of my cake at all I ended up using another box of cake mix that I had to make the top of the bars. Next time I make this I will cut the recipe back to make a smaller batch and probably cut the cake mix in half so I know I have enough to cover the top of the bars. Oh and I didn't see the dark chocolate and mint chips either but I did happen to find some Andes mint chips that are awesome and I also got a bag of chocolate chips so I could have both chocolate and mint chips and it worked out great. I really like the idea of these bars but to make them work for my family it needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Blakely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very, very good! Never made cheesecake before & it turned out great. Was a lot easier than I thought cheesecake would be. Loved baking in 9x13 pan instead of spring form. Used peppermint extract & Andes candies. Did not drizzle any chocolate on top. Still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by High Heels
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
made them for our church dinner and they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States