St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
These are sinful and rich little guys! The recipe is very simple to follow with it's detailed instructions. Please feel free to look at my blog here on AR to see step by step how to assemble. It's one of my family's favorite holiday dessert recipes. And now my family looks forward to it every year. This keeps well in the frig for a week and can be frozen for a later time. I hope you like it as much as we do. Please NOTE: the cheesecake part of the recipe doesn't rise but about 1/4 - 1/2 an inch, but won't fall flat. It stays the same thickness as when you poured it in. It's thick and creamy but will stay firm after refrigerated. Don't flip out if you think it's suppose to rise, because it won't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I made these for an early St. Patrick's day event. They were the first thing to go! Rave reviews all around. Yes the recipe has quite a few steps, but it is well written and thorough. I used chopped Andes mint candies since I couldn't find the dark chocolate and mint chips. I also put a little parchment in the pan to make removing them easier. Thanks mis7up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Family loved it. Could only eat a very small piece cause it's very rich! Will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michela65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Made the cheesecake without the mint and food coloring. It was very yummy. Loved the crust. Smells wonderful baking. Will make again. Thanks Made the cheesecake again, this time I used a lemon cake mix and a can of lemon frosting to mix with the cream cheese. It was a big hit with my family and coworkers. Had a lot of request for the recipe. It is so easy to make. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
i had so much fun making this!! mine did fall but its probably because i put it in the fridge right after i took it out of the oven instead of letting it cool first. but that was my fault. other then that it came out great & i can see myself making this again. next time i will wait for it to cool before i put it in the fridge. also i put some wax paper down to make it easy for me to get the bars out of the glass pan. they came out so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
so yummy!!! Thank you SO MUCH for sharing this recipe! my husband and I both LOVE mint chocolate and cheesecake... This recipe is the BEST CHEESECAKE I HAVE EVER MADE!! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! ps- this is something i could get fat off of and die happy eating! thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loriMoran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
These are sinfully good! Thank you so much for sharing. I goofed the first time I made these and forgot to reserve some of the crust for the topping. I had some leftover thin mint girl scout cookies so I crushed a bunch of those for the topping and mixed with the amount of butter called for in the recipe and yum!!! I also used crushed Andes mints to garnish and melted milk chocolate chips to drizzle over the top. My fiance and I ate them after the 2 hour refiregeration like the recipe called for, and they didnt taste that great. I would suggest letting them completely chill over night before eating because it made a huge difference in the taste and then we couldn't stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
As a cheesecake novice, I learned a few things by making this recipe. #1. Mine also puffed during baking & fell in the refrigerator. I read that this is due to overbeating of the eggs causing a "souffle effect." It didn't affect the texture of the finished product, other than the 4 edges remained raised. Next time I will add the eggs as the last ingredient of the batter so as not to overbeat them. #2. There is an art to cutting cheesecake so that the filling doesn't cling to the knife. Use a very thin, sharp blade (steak knife) and dip it into the hot water often to prevent dragging the filling and making messy edges. #3. My grocery store did not have candy flavoring, so I bought peppermint extract. I used 1 tsp. in the batter. They also did not have mint chocolate chips or even mint chocolate candies (Andes)! So I bought dark chocolate chips & white chocolate chips. I colored the white chips with a drop of green coloring in a plastic bag. They somewhat absorbed the color. Pale green mint chips would've been prettier, but this worked fine. Also because of the lack of mint in the topping, I think the batter could've used more than 1 tsp. of peppermint extract to stand up to the strong cheesecake flavor, maybe 1 1/2 tsp. #4. I cut the squares & arranged them on a plate, & then drizzled melted dark chips from the corner of a bag onto each square individually. This prevented smearing the chocolate onto the pale green filling during cutting. LOVE IT! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great! Only don't say bake until firm, because that's not how cheesecakes are supposed to be baked! They will still be jiggly in the middle, but will stiffen after being chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
made them for our church dinner and they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States