St. Louis Toasted Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is a tasty recipe, but substitute the cheese ravs for meat ravioli. I've never had cheese filled toasted Ravs in St. Louis and the meat filled is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I added meat and sauce as someone suggested. I also attempted to put them under broiler at 375 as someone suggested but the came out a little rubbery on the edges. Another reviewer said 350....will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We have made this. It's a good sub when we can't get to Stl for the real thing. The only thing I'd add is that StL toasted ravs are traditionally made with beef ravioli. Also, if you're a purist, you'll want to be sure to pair this with a sweet tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I place mine on a cookie sheet and spray with butter flavor pam and bake them at 375 until they are brown and puffed. Les fat, don't have to stand over grease and get popped and just as crunchy as they are if they were fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
would be good for an appetizer not a dinner but tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made these as a party appetizer and they were a HIT! I have to admit, I par-boiled them b/c it seems they would have been very tough had I not. After boiling, I laid out on a sheet pan so they weren't touching and refrigerated until cool. I also dredged lightly in flour before egg and breadcrumbs. It really makes a nice crust. I'm glad I did these extra steps, b/c I would have been disappointed if they came out any differently than they did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Added some seasoned ground beef to the spaghetti sauce... YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tayamid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I've never made toasted ravioli before, but I've eaten plenty of them at restaurants and at the fair. This recipe was so simple and they tasted just like the ones I've spent tons of money on! I completely forgot to sprinkle them with Parmesan cheese after frying, but they still tasted fantastic dipped in Four Cheese spaghetti sauce. I doubled the recipe, but even with 24 large raviolis, we didn't use even close to 16 ounces of spaghetti sauce. I recommend pouring a small amount of sauce into a dipping bowl and refilling it as needed. That way the extra sauce can be saved for another use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Good, but hard on the teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I LOVE these! Very easy in the Fry Daddy, they go quickly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States