St. Louis Toasted Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
YUM! My daughter orders toasted ravioli at our local Italian eatery and I decided to give them a try. So good, she said they taste just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Made this tonight. followed to a "t" and it was awesome! This recipe is pretty much how it was made in the late 1930's and early 1940's when toasted ravioli was created. the origins say it was either Oldani's or a restaurant known commonly as Angelo's were the first to make it... fillings used were veal,beef or a cheese mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geoff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Super easy and sooooo delicious. Will definitely make it again. TY for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
this is the best appetizer I know of - of course, I am from St. Louis and had this at Tony's - it's a great substitue for the one they served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Very good and a change from the usual ravioli! I breaded them early in the day and froze them. I saw that others wanted to speed up the time and baked them instead. I did what the recipes said to do and it took me 10 mins tops! Just took out of freezer and put right into skillet. Depending on the skillet size you can place about 8 - 10 raviolis in the pan. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt Duncan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
SERIOUSLY GOOD!!! This recipe is perfect as far as the ravioli prep. Instead of regular ole spaghetti sauce, I used one 7 1/2 oz. can of El Pato Tomato Sauce (for its bite) and simmered it with two cloves of garlic and one quarter onion and ended up with one hell of a dipping sauce for this appetizer. This one is one recipe I won't forget for an unexpected crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DooDah2
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I added additional spices to my bread crumbs (onion/garlic powders, oregano, basil, red pepper flake) and I used meat filled frozen ravioli. My sauce was homemade marinara. We loved this. Next time, I'll know to make a recipe and a half as my husband wanted more than the recipe made. I'd like to try this next time as a baked toasted ravioli, to cut back on the fat content some. As is, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Very good! Baked these at 350 for 20 minutes instead of frying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
a perennial favorite with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Very okay. Might depend on the sauce you use. Also, Even with the egg batter I had trouble getting the bread crumbs to completely stick. Also was unsure of how to thaw frozen ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States