St. Louis Pork Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This recipe was a nice change from the same bbq pork steaks I usually make. I did make a couple changes - I mixed a 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar with 1/4 cup Woodchuck's Hard Apple Cider and basted the entire time it was on the grill. I LOVE vinegar, so to me, these were perfect. My husband said he couldn't taste anything and they were pretty plain. If I did this again, I would probably add some extra seasoning (other than the salt and pepper this recipe called for).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Needed a lot of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Hoffman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Good, finished cooking these in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Well, I don't know from St Louis or Chicago, but this recipe is fantastic. The meat was tender and moist. I actually added some of the "sauce" to the veggies I was sauteing. Marcus, you turned me on to a whole new flavor/style of cooking. Love it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Love this recipe! I've had bbq all over the states and St. Louis is my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Good enough BBQ but definitely not St. Louis. St. Louis does not do the vinegar thing. St. Louis BBQ is sweet, spicy with a little bit of kick and endless quantities of BBQ sauce. Think MAULLS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Loved it, loved it, loved it. Perfect on a winter night when you don't want something so heavy it will stuff you, and you are watching your calories. Grilled on my daughter's George Foreman grill, served with a side of pan-fried potatoes, and garlic-buttered greenbeans. PS--the apple cider vinegar gives that BBQ-like sensation. Use a good season salt and a quality vinegar to get the perfect blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Oh, I was really hoping this was going to be a good receipe. I followed the direction as stated and all we could taste was vinegar. Tried saving it with BBQ sauce without any luck. Unless you love vinegar-flavored meat, pass on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I'm also from St. Louis and love these!The vinegar thing is the key. We boil ours in vinegar first and they get so tender and juicy, then we throw them on the grill to finish them off. AWESOME! Lived in NC for several years and St. Louis BBQ is the real deal. That NC stuff is just shredded meat in vinegar. They don't even grill it! It's not BBQ, it's blasphemy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I'm from St.Louie also not really into the vinager thing I sear on bothsides then baste with favorite bbq sauce and stack steaks on cool part of grill.keep basting and atlernating stack for about an hour the juices run down the stacktenderizing underneith.really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States