Sri Lankan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I would love to try this recipe but don't have a grinder or the raw seeds. I was wondering if Steve might give the measurements for the equivalent in prepackaged spices. Would it be the same? (I rated the recipe based on the ingredient list). Bloomie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Simply delicious. Thank you for sharing it. My husband loved it as it was different. The aroma was mouth watering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Delicious. I have been using something very similar as a filling for Dosas for years. dry roasting the spices takes a couple of times to get it down..particularly if you don't have access to fresher ingredients. A couple of things to consider are obviously if you have an indian market in your community, they will almost always have their own fresh made curry powders and if you explain what you want (using Steve's ingredients) it's like they will have it, or something similar. Most supermarkets now have pre-made indian spices like Garam Masala (which adds things like Cardamom, Cloves, Nutmeg)...which is not the same, but also a nice flavour. In both cases you can dry roast the powder, of add some of the gee to make a paste and then heat that until it starts to get aromatic - but if so you must use ghee as you may not notice if you use regular butter and it starts to burn..Ghee has a higher smoke point. NEVER, EVER USE THE MASS MARKET DREAD YELLOW POWDER THEY CALL CURRY POWDER!!!!! It's an abomination and the reason why so many people hate curries, they think it is that and it is NOT!!! In India (and Sri Lanka as well as other communtiies that share the ethnic and culinary background), almsot every family has their won curry recipe that is handed down for generations and has it's own special proportions and mix of spices. I had Tamil friends in Malaysia whose grandmother shared her 'formula' with me...it was a great sign of acceptance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Whoaaa this was awesome! My only complaint is that it smelled so good while cooking that no one could wait for it to finish (but that's a good thing..). I didn't have curry leaves so I used a Tbsp curry powder- deelish! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is a great potato curry but I add turmeric to it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
It was really good, but not nearly as spicy as i thought it would be. Also, I think that the potatoes I used were too big. But in general, it was very tasty and everyone but the picky eaters liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I made this recipe using the powdered version of all the spices (exept garlic) and it turned out great. I used the same measurements for the powdered spices. Next time though I will microwave the potatoes longer so they are basically done - I found the recipe took a lot longer as the potatoes took a while to cook in the pan. But still so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
It was a little bland.... and I did end up using the entire can of coconut milk. The potatoes took forever to cook, but they did eventually (30 minutes of constant simmering later!). For the person who said they didn't have a grinder, what you can do is roast the seeds, and then place them in foil. Fold the foil up, then take a rolling pin and crush them through the foil. It works pretty much the same. That's what I did because my grinder cannot grind small amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
This dish was aromatic to make and tasty to eat, especially when the potatoes are simply warm. I found that I had to use the whole 13.5 oz can of coconut milk and cook the potatoes 15 minutes longer, despite having microwaved them previous to putting them in the pan. Other than that, it was wonderful. I love coriander, both the seeds and the plant. It was great. Thank you for sharing this. P.S. The flavor doesn't keep well after it's been refrigerated for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I found this recipe very bland, needed to add chilli and turmeric aswelll because the colour was not very appetising
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Flynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States