Sri Lankan Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was very flavorful and the combination of spices was spot on. Unfortunately I did not have the curry leaves or tamarind but I am sure that would have made it even better. I used half the salt as some reviews mentioned and found it not lacking. It was very spicy, even omitting all but one of the green chilies, I was the only one in my family who could eat it and my husband made everyone else sandwiches. I would watch the spice level if you are serving to a family or are not that hardcore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This is very good! I used a couple of dried red chilis, and it was fiery hot. Also, I dumped in a whole can of coconut milk by accident, but the consistency was still fine. Thanks for a great recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Truly Delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I used just a dot of tamarind paste instead of juice, and i accidentally forgot to add the garlic. I didnt even notice. This dish with good spices and fresh ingredients is really lovely. I had to add a lot more water to cover the chicken however, but that was fine for me because it's such a strong curry. Yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is better than another curry recipe that I've tried previously. I think the curry powder really matters. I cut back on the green chili peppers and it was still very spicy. The curry leaves made the dish very fragrant. I cut back on the salt though. I also let the meat marinate for a couple of hours before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This was insanely flavorful, and very delicious! The only thing I would change is reduce the salt - I used the recommended 1 tablespoon and it was really too much. Next time I will cut that in half. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I used chicken thighs with skin and bones, more salt, 1/4 cup of home made tamarind liquid, a mit of extra chilli, and used cooking oil instead of high-saturated fat coconut milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My boyfriend is Sri Lankan and I used this recipe to test out my Sri Lankan cooking ability! He thought it was as good as (if not better) than his parents chicken curries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Exotic, spicy, delicious! I reduced the salt & pepper, instead just shaking them well over the chicken & marinade mixture while stirring. I didn't have everything on hand so omitted tamarind, curry leaves; subbed canola for coconut oil, used yellow onions and whole dried red chili peppers cause that's what I had... This was fabulous. I think the quality of the curry powder matters, the recipe calling for at least twice what I've ever used in one dish before. I used a Madras curry powder purchased at an Indian shop near my parish. Served this to company, everyone had seconds. Goes great with beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This curry was one of the best and most delicious I've ever had. It was rich and had a wonderful blend of flavours. Definitely a keeper. The only thing I will do differently in the future is to cut down on the salt a tad. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States