Sri Lankan Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Delicious, even without tamarind juice. I replaced the curry leaves with large basil leaves and small green chile peppers with one roasted, skinned Anaheim pepper. I used ground cardamom instead of the pods. I added the whole can of coconut milk. I garnished it with cilantro. Love this recipe. It was very flavorful. I'd probably add a dash of nutmeg to sweeten it just slightly or an extra cinnamon stick but even without those additions it was delicious. I would not replace the coconut milk as it is essential in my opinion to a good curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I've made this several times and its fantastic. Be sure to use Madras curry powder and fresh whole spices from an Indian store to really make the flavors pop. pour over rice and you've got a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Martyna
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Tried it minus the tamarind. After frying the onion, chilli, cardamom, curry leaves, etc. I made a paste of it. Loved the consistency. Best teamed with steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was very flavorful and the combination of spices was spot on. Unfortunately I did not have the curry leaves or tamarind but I am sure that would have made it even better. I used half the salt as some reviews mentioned and found it not lacking. It was very spicy, even omitting all but one of the green chilies, I was the only one in my family who could eat it and my husband made everyone else sandwiches. I would watch the spice level if you are serving to a family or are not that hardcore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This is very good! I used a couple of dried red chilis, and it was fiery hot. Also, I dumped in a whole can of coconut milk by accident, but the consistency was still fine. Thanks for a great recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Truly Delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I used just a dot of tamarind paste instead of juice, and i accidentally forgot to add the garlic. I didnt even notice. This dish with good spices and fresh ingredients is really lovely. I had to add a lot more water to cover the chicken however, but that was fine for me because it's such a strong curry. Yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is better than another curry recipe that I've tried previously. I think the curry powder really matters. I cut back on the green chili peppers and it was still very spicy. The curry leaves made the dish very fragrant. I cut back on the salt though. I also let the meat marinate for a couple of hours before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This was insanely flavorful, and very delicious! The only thing I would change is reduce the salt - I used the recommended 1 tablespoon and it was really too much. Next time I will cut that in half. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I used chicken thighs with skin and bones, more salt, 1/4 cup of home made tamarind liquid, a mit of extra chilli, and used cooking oil instead of high-saturated fat coconut milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My boyfriend is Sri Lankan and I used this recipe to test out my Sri Lankan cooking ability! He thought it was as good as (if not better) than his parents chicken curries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States