Sri Lanka Beef Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Where in the world do I find all these leaves? I made it without them and it was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was so delicious! Looks complicated, but really comes together easily. I could not find curry leaves, so I subbed a bit of fresh basil and a squeeze of lime. I found the pandan leaf in an asian grocery, just took several leaves and tied with kitchen string during the cooking, then removed before serving. I did americanize this for a one-pot meal, I added red pepper strips, carrot, and peas. Only used the coconut milk to blush, about 1/3 cup, the sauce was so flavorful. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe, a do-over for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This "Sri Lanka Beef Curry" was as delicious as similar dishes I have had in restaurants. I made it as written except that I couldn't find pandan leaf, and used my pressure cooker to shorten the cooking time. I will definitely be making this again. Next time I make it I might be inclined to throw in some potato cubes and spinach since I generally like veggies in my stew (regardless of authenticity). Thanks Rob for sharing your recipe. REVIEW UPDATE: I now know that I can find pandan leaves in the refrigerator section of an Asian grocery store. Also, I would like to comment that my curry leaves tasted like tea leaves with all the flavor seeped out of them. The Indian grocer who sold them to me told me that they were mostly for aroma. I think it is safe to leave the curry leaves out of this recipe without spoiling the overall presentation in the case you can't find them. These are NOT the same "curry leaves" as used in Thai curries (kaffir lime leaves).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Photo by sunnydeids
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Simply Excellent. I followed recipe, omitting only the leaf and the flavor was superb. Next time I will also make Raita (to cool the mouth) and Naan Bread. But this was not a too hot spicy dish for us to eat with just rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnydeids

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I feel a little funny reviewing when I didn't follow the recipe exactly because I hate it when people leave glowing reviews but didn't actually make the recipe. That said, I was just making due with what I had on hand; thought I'd share so others won't be afraid to try. I didn't have pandan and I forgot the vinegar and I used ground cinnamon and cloves and used my own family's garam masala mix and finished with chopped cilantro. Also omitted the coconut milk just to reduce the calories. I made this in my pressure cooker, which worked out well for a weeknight meal, and served with brown rice. I'm Indian, but beef curry is new territory since my extended family is Hindu. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Used 2-3 bay leaves and pinch of dried basil instead of pandanus leaves, no curry leaves, used ground cardamom, cloves and cinnamon. Used ketchup if don't have paste, used ginger paste. USe 1/2 AMT OF CAYENNE! Very spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This is a great easy recipe. The only thing I couldn't find was the pandan leaf but it was great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Millett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This curry was amazing! I let it cook a little longer to soften the beef a little more. The flavours as written are so good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Perfection. I am a 20 year plus cook of Indian and Sri Lankan food and this recipe is superb. Since I used a very inexpensive beef cut, I did marinate the 3lbs of beef with 1/2 cup of dry red wine, a couple cloves of garlic diced and salt and pepper. I covered and placed in refrigerator for approx 3 hours. You may not ned to do this but Wow what a curry. I bought my curry powder roasted from my neighborhood Indian supply shop and served with a high quality basmati rice. I live in Australia and we are blessed with fantastic spice shops, not sure how you would go in a small U.S mid-western town for supplies. Try this recipe if you can, you will be delighted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I'm Sri Lankan, this curry is as authentic as they come. If you don't have canned tomato you can sustitute chopped fresh tomato instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States