Sri Lanka Beef Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Made this for dinner tonight and it was sensational! I only had a small steak in the freezer and wanted to stretch it out- so I cut it into small pieces and just halved the recipe. Served it over brown rice and homemade naan bread. This will be a regular recipe in our house for sure - husband raved. I also added a kaffir leaf to the recipe (didn't have pandan or curry leaves) and had no tomato paste so subbed heinz ketchup as previously suggested in another review. I garnished with fresh cilantro. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Sri Lanka Beef Curry" was as delicious as similar dishes I have had in restaurants. I used my pressure cooker to shorten the cooking time. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks Rob for sharing your recipe. Note: You can find pandan leaves in the refrigerator section of an Asian grocery store. Curry leaves are with the spices, and taste like tea leaves with all the flavor seeped out of them. The Indian grocer tells me that they are mostly for aroma. I think it is safe to leave the curry leaves out of this recipe without spoiling the overall presentation. These are not the same "curry leaves" as used in Thai curries (kaffir lime leaves).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I turned this into a slow cooker recipe and it was fabulous! I mixed everything but the coconut milk together in the slow cooker. It was cooked on low for 4-5 hours. I added the coconut milk about 15 minutes before serving. I could not find pandan or curry, but it was fantastic without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Where in the world do I find all these leaves? I made it without them and it was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was so delicious! Looks complicated, but really comes together easily. I could not find curry leaves, so I subbed a bit of fresh basil and a squeeze of lime. I found the pandan leaf in an asian grocery, just took several leaves and tied with kitchen string during the cooking, then removed before serving. I did americanize this for a one-pot meal, I added red pepper strips, carrot, and peas. Only used the coconut milk to blush, about 1/3 cup, the sauce was so flavorful. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe, a do-over for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by sunnydeids
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Simply Excellent. I followed recipe, omitting only the leaf and the flavor was superb. Next time I will also make Raita (to cool the mouth) and Naan Bread. But this was not a too hot spicy dish for us to eat with just rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnydeids

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I feel a little funny reviewing when I didn't follow the recipe exactly because I hate it when people leave glowing reviews but didn't actually make the recipe. That said, I was just making due with what I had on hand; thought I'd share so others won't be afraid to try. I didn't have pandan and I forgot the vinegar and I used ground cinnamon and cloves and used my own family's garam masala mix and finished with chopped cilantro. Also omitted the coconut milk just to reduce the calories. I made this in my pressure cooker, which worked out well for a weeknight meal, and served with brown rice. I'm Indian, but beef curry is new territory since my extended family is Hindu. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Used 2-3 bay leaves and pinch of dried basil instead of pandanus leaves, no curry leaves, used ground cardamom, cloves and cinnamon. Used ketchup if don't have paste, used ginger paste. USe 1/2 AMT OF CAYENNE! Very spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This is a great easy recipe. The only thing I couldn't find was the pandan leaf but it was great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Millett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This curry was amazing! I let it cook a little longer to soften the beef a little more. The flavours as written are so good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States