Sri Lanka Beef Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Fabulous recipe!! Excellent. I only alter it by reducing the cayenne a bit. This is defiantly a family favorite. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Delicious and authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I feel a little funny reviewing when I didn't follow the recipe exactly because I hate it when people leave glowing reviews but didn't actually make the recipe. That said, I was just making due with what I had on hand; thought I'd share so others won't be afraid to try. I didn't have pandan and I forgot the vinegar and I used ground cinnamon and cloves and used my own family's garam masala mix and finished with chopped cilantro. Also omitted the coconut milk just to reduce the calories. I made this in my pressure cooker, which worked out well for a weeknight meal, and served with brown rice. I'm Indian, but beef curry is new territory since my extended family is Hindu. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
A great curry! I followed the recipe to the letter, most of my meals are curry, this one was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Owen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I'm Sri Lankan, this curry is as authentic as they come. If you don't have canned tomato you can sustitute chopped fresh tomato instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
wonderful.... now i'm looking for more sri lankan recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Perfection. I am a 20 year plus cook of Indian and Sri Lankan food and this recipe is superb. Since I used a very inexpensive beef cut, I did marinate the 3lbs of beef with 1/2 cup of dry red wine, a couple cloves of garlic diced and salt and pepper. I covered and placed in refrigerator for approx 3 hours. You may not ned to do this but Wow what a curry. I bought my curry powder roasted from my neighborhood Indian supply shop and served with a high quality basmati rice. I live in Australia and we are blessed with fantastic spice shops, not sure how you would go in a small U.S mid-western town for supplies. Try this recipe if you can, you will be delighted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This is a great easy recipe. The only thing I couldn't find was the pandan leaf but it was great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Millett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This curry was amazing! I let it cook a little longer to soften the beef a little more. The flavours as written are so good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunnydeids
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Simply Excellent. I followed recipe, omitting only the leaf and the flavor was superb. Next time I will also make Raita (to cool the mouth) and Naan Bread. But this was not a too hot spicy dish for us to eat with just rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnydeids

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States