Squirrel's Great Beef Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
And what a great beef steak it is. I used fat free Italian salad dressing. This is a great marinade that doesn't overpower the taste of the steak. Thanks Squirrel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Great steak marinade! I would have never thought of such an odd combination of ingredients but it really worked. Everyone loved it. It was a bit on the salty side even though I used low sodium soy sauce so I think next time I'd leave out the seasoned salt. Other than that I'll definitely make this again for a BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Way to go Squirrel! Awesome recipe. I sauteed fresh mushrooms & garlic, then mixed in some of the leftover marinade and let it reduce, then poured it over the steak. Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knob Noster, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
The other reviewers are right. This is a great marinade that doesn't overpower the taste of the meat, more like "punches up" the flavor of the beef. I doubled the recipe for a 2 lb. london broil, worked out fine. Marinated for approx. 18 hrs. I did not add all the additional salt (seasoning or regular), nor did I add the steak seasoning (Montreal). With soy sauce and bottled dressing in the marinade, who needs all the extra salt, or high blood pressure ;)? Very good, simple, and again, the beef flavor wasn't overpowered, only enhanced. A keeper. Thanks Squirrel. ps - When I told my kids they were having Squirrel's Great Beef Steak for dinner, they said "Squirrel - for dinner? " They loved it. Even my picky 9 y.o.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
This recipe was fabulous! I sauteed mushrooms and green onions in the leftover marinade, then topped it off with fresh parsley. A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Great marinade! Used it on venison steaks for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This marinade was excellent. My husband couldn't stop raving about it. But because we prefer different cuts of beef I'll try something different next time. Two weeks later: This is awesome with chicken too. I grilled boneless, skinless after marinading overnight and topped them with swiss cheese. I'm changing my rating from 4 to 5 stars. P.S. The Smart Chicken brand is the most delicious chicken I ever had and worth every penny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This marinade is the best. My father loved it so much,he ate 2 steaks the first time i made it.the second time i made it, i used lamb chop instead and it turned out great.i love this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limbang, Sarawak, Malaysia
Living In: Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei And Muara, Brunei Darussalam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
THE BEST MARINADE IN THE WORLD! Squirrel should sell this to some famous steak house...it doesn't get better than this! I will try it on chicken the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANNYFARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
A very good marinade! I didn't have enough bbq sauce on hand so I added a touch of honey which I really liked. I was only able to marinade it for a few hours, but it was still wonderful. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States