Squaw Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Well, didn't try, was immediately turned off by the racist name, but you know, I like when people call me and my daughters dirty racist names and then use them for food. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made 1/2 the recipe and made one large round. I didn't use my bread maker. Just used my stand mixer. This is a bread that we used to make in the bakery. Very good taste. If you don't like the taste of raisins, soak the raisins before you grind them. Awesome bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cake Ace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Really great recipe. I also halved the recipe and did it on my bread machine, wheat setting, light crust. Very dense heavy loaf, but yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I've been looking for this type of bread since experiencing the Squaw Bread from St. Augustine's Whole Earth Bakery. This recipe comes very close to their bread. I'll be tweaking this recipe - the secret is in the pureed raisin mixture and molasses. Very much worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Pretty darn tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
try with molasses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
If I could give this 10 stars, I would! The time it takes is definitely worth it. I always make a double batch so that I actually have some left for the next day. Add a little extra yeast to make it a bit fluffier - 1 tsp. (1 pkg yeast = about 1 tbsp active dry yeast). I make this into 4 round loaves (so 8 from a double batch) and cut crosses in the top. I also top them with oatmeal, steel cut or old fashioned, after I butter the top, before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Very dense, and a bit sweet. I made 1/2 a recipe and baked it in a loaf pan instead of making a round loaf. It does make decent toast, but it is pretty dense so it's a bit chewy. Nice and flavorful though. I love whole grain breads, so this gets a thumbs up from me. Bf probably not so much, but his opinion will have to wait since I tried this one for breakfast (he wasn't up) and froze the remainder of the loaf for later. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Very tasty, Turned out good, nice dense bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is a pretty good bread. Next time I would bake at 350...the top got a bit too brown before the bread was done. The crumb wasn't as dark as I wanted. I might increase the raisins next time. You don't need 3 T of butter, just a tad brushed over the surface is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States