Squash with Tomato and Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly (except I used summer squash and I crushed seasoned croutons instead of stuffing). Both my husband and I really, really enjoyed it! If you slice the tomatoes very thinly, they become "dehydrated" on top of the casserole and their flavors intensify giving the dish a little "bite" that is *wonderful*. We really love feta, so it was great use of the cheese (and fresh tomatoes) to amp up plain old boring summer squash. Cooking the rosemary in the dish (and then removing) was also a great addition. Chopping the rosemary and adding it to the dish would have been too much! The rosemary flavor was great without being overpowering. Wonderful side dish...fancy enough for company!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I was fed up with sweet or "just butter" squash recipes when I found this one. Absolutely fantastic. Even my "squash hating" brother had several helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I thought this was delicious. I used skim milk instead of the cream with mine and it turned out to be really good. I also cut the squash in half, put it into a bowl in the microwave with a little water and steamed it. When i got it out it was so soft that i was just able to spoon the squash out of it. I am definately making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is the bomb!!! I left out the peppers and onions and used bread crumbs instead of stuffing mix. I also used half and half. Also, I chopped the squash and put it in the oven in the mixture without cooking it first and it was fine in 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
The cream isn't necessary--milk works fine! I only had cherry tomatoes so I halved them and put them all across the top. It looked really pretty. This would be great to serve at Thanksgiving or Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was delicious! I kind of had a hard time working with a raw squash... but there must be a trick I don't know about? I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Only change was using goat cheese instead of feta: had a pretty good flavor. Next time, I'll jazz up with a few spices to get a more robust flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Only made two changes - subsituted 2% milk for the cream and used summer squash instead of acorn squash. Hubby and I both LOVED this recipe! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was really good! It was much more interesting and less egg-y than I expected. We made this using yellow squash and bread crumbs because that's what we had. We only used about 1/2 cup bread crumbs (1/4 mixed in and 1/4 sprinkled on top). We also used a few more spices and quite a bit more feta cheese. YUM, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. It's different from any other casserole that I've eaten and it's relatively healthy! I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States