Squash with Tomato and Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I only made this recipe to get rid of a bunch of extra summer squash my garden produced, but it was a surprise hit with everyone. We make it quite frequently now, especially for potluck dinners, and I can always rely on everyone to rave about it and ask for the recipe. I use a 50/50 mixture of Italian breadcrumbs and unflavored breadcrumbs instead of the stuffing mix. Great way to use up squash and zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was AWESOME! I didn't adjust anything, I did it exactly like the recipe called for. I used an 8X8 dish, which seems "small" to me rather than "medium". I got out a 7x11 at first...but I knew it would be too thin a layer. When I make this again, I will probably use a little less of the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I enjoyed it very much but my children and husband did not. Followed recipe through, just replaced the feta since my family is not that into it. I have since found another squash casserole recipe on here that my family has all liked much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HauntedHollow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
We had this as a side dish for dinner last night and absolutely loved it. I substituted evaporated milk for the heavy cream and 1/2 tsp dried rosemary for the fresh, because that was what I had on hand. Next time, this will be a vegetarian main dish supper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I loved this recipe! The changes I made were only because I had to use what I had on hand in my kitchen, but I imagine it would be even better as written. I used pattypan squash, steamed as directed. I omitted the stuffing, as I have a gluten sensitivity, and I used shredded goat milk cheddar cheese instead of the Parmesan & feta. I also had to use yellow onion, as I did not have the green. At any rate, it was delicious! Not a morsel left. I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Yummy as a main dish! I substituted butternut squash, and didn't use peppercorns or green pepper ( think we might have also used yellow onions instead of green)... still tasted amazing-- as the look/consistency of a quiche. Would also would work great as a breakfast dish (We had it as leftovers the next morning.. our holiday guests loved it!) I am cooking it again tonight & will try it with the ingredients listed... I'm looking forward to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaraLF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
As much as I love interesting mixes of flavors, in the end, I just didn't care for this. I served it at a fall dinner party as a side and friends reported that it was "ok" but not great. My husband and I did not really want to finish the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Not my favorite. The sauce was not moist enough. And the dish didn't have enough flavor (and I had added a lot of cayenne, paprika, and poultry seasoning, and pepper that the recipe didn't call for).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Awful lot of work for not much reward. The flavor wasn't outstanding. If we do it again which is doubtful, we'll use a whole acorn squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
An absolutely delectable way to enjoy the bounty of a summer harvest. Used 1 summer squash, 1 acorn squash. Followed directions mostly except I used more feta on top along with goat cheese. I also used yellow and red tomatoes and put them in rows on top. Gorgeous. Completely gone, even gobbled up by four kids aged 7mos - 15 yrs. I will take this to potlucks, and I will double the recipe when we have company. Summer squash done up in ballgown - not your usual add a bit of sugar boredom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States