Squash with Tomato and Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by J Walter Jones
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
We very much enjoyed this recipe. We made it exactly as directed with the exception of replacing goat cheese crumbles for feta. It was a tasty combination and would work well for a Sunday brunch option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Walter Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Seville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Oh this is really good! I used crushed crutons instead of bread cumbs and it still turned out wonderful. Can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I didn't have any stuffing mix, so I used fresh brench bread crumbs seasoned with sage and onion. It worked fine, and the dish turned out great. My husband and I love this one! Next time I might add a little more feta, just because we love the taste so much, but it was great with the amount stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moon Riding Fences

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was really good! It was much more interesting and less egg-y than I expected. We made this using yellow squash and bread crumbs because that's what we had. We only used about 1/2 cup bread crumbs (1/4 mixed in and 1/4 sprinkled on top). We also used a few more spices and quite a bit more feta cheese. YUM, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Only made two changes - subsituted 2% milk for the cream and used summer squash instead of acorn squash. Hubby and I both LOVED this recipe! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was delicious! I kind of had a hard time working with a raw squash... but there must be a trick I don't know about? I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
The cream isn't necessary--milk works fine! I only had cherry tomatoes so I halved them and put them all across the top. It looked really pretty. This would be great to serve at Thanksgiving or Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is the bomb!!! I left out the peppers and onions and used bread crumbs instead of stuffing mix. I also used half and half. Also, I chopped the squash and put it in the oven in the mixture without cooking it first and it was fine in 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I was fed up with sweet or "just butter" squash recipes when I found this one. Absolutely fantastic. Even my "squash hating" brother had several helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly (except I used summer squash and I crushed seasoned croutons instead of stuffing). Both my husband and I really, really enjoyed it! If you slice the tomatoes very thinly, they become "dehydrated" on top of the casserole and their flavors intensify giving the dish a little "bite" that is *wonderful*. We really love feta, so it was great use of the cheese (and fresh tomatoes) to amp up plain old boring summer squash. Cooking the rosemary in the dish (and then removing) was also a great addition. Chopping the rosemary and adding it to the dish would have been too much! The rosemary flavor was great without being overpowering. Wonderful side dish...fancy enough for company!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States