Squash with Tomato and Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is the bomb!!! I left out the peppers and onions and used bread crumbs instead of stuffing mix. I also used half and half. Also, I chopped the squash and put it in the oven in the mixture without cooking it first and it was fine in 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
The cream isn't necessary--milk works fine! I only had cherry tomatoes so I halved them and put them all across the top. It looked really pretty. This would be great to serve at Thanksgiving or Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
It's nice to find something different to do with squash. This was quite delicious and we will be making this again. I made it a little healthier by using crushed corn flakes instead of bread crumbs and evaporated milk in place of the heavy cream. I also added steamed zucchini with the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This was an interesting concocsion. I would make it again. I used butternut squash, a regular skinned/seeded tomato and yellow onion beacause this was what I had on hand. I think acorn squash would probably have made made this even better. It tasted alot better the second day when I warmed it up for lunch. The flavors seemed to have melded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I only made this recipe to get rid of a bunch of extra summer squash my garden produced, but it was a surprise hit with everyone. We make it quite frequently now, especially for potluck dinners, and I can always rely on everyone to rave about it and ask for the recipe. I use a 50/50 mixture of Italian breadcrumbs and unflavored breadcrumbs instead of the stuffing mix. Great way to use up squash and zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was really good! It was much more interesting and less egg-y than I expected. We made this using yellow squash and bread crumbs because that's what we had. We only used about 1/2 cup bread crumbs (1/4 mixed in and 1/4 sprinkled on top). We also used a few more spices and quite a bit more feta cheese. YUM, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was delicious! I kind of had a hard time working with a raw squash... but there must be a trick I don't know about? I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I didn't have any stuffing mix, so I used fresh brench bread crumbs seasoned with sage and onion. It worked fine, and the dish turned out great. My husband and I love this one! Next time I might add a little more feta, just because we love the taste so much, but it was great with the amount stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moon Riding Fences

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This recipe is truly amazing! Not only does it use up that acorn squash that you have no clue what to do with, it tastes absolutely amazing with the feta cheese and rosemary! This is a great dish for vegetarians and it appeals to the meat eaters too. A definite must that works throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Very tasty... savory rather than sweet. My family love simple baked squash with butter, but get tired of the same dishes. I did not have the stuffing mix or green onions, so I used bread crumbs and poultry seasoning with finely chopped onion. Since I was grilling chicken, I put it in a greased cast iron skillet and set it on the grill beside the chicken. It worked great! My husband still prefers it baked with butter, but this recipes gives the rest of us some variety. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Heltonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States