Squash and Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This is one of the best recipes, easy and now one of my family favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Delicious! I use spray my pan with Pam and leave out the butter. I sprinkle the veggies with some italian seasoning and minced garlic. During cooking you may have to drain the pan a couple of times. After it's done I sprinkle everything with parmesan vs. romano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Great recipe! I didn't have tomatoes, so substituted diced canned tomatoes. I also substituted olive oil for butter. Since there are only two of us, I halved the recipe and had plenty to spare! The flavor was great but much too watery. Next time I will drain the matoes and cook the dish uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I'm not a huge fan of Zucchini and Squash, but thought I'd try this recipe for my husband. He absolutely loved it. I made more than the original recipe for a family dinner and had leftovers. He said this was even better heated up the next day. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
My boys are not fans of tomatoe in veggies so I made a few alterations. First, omitted the tomatoes so to make up for the loss of flavor, I caremlized the onions before layering. I cut the veggies into slices rather than lengthwise for more even cooking. I substituted a mix of Mozzarella (2/3) and cheddar (1/3) for the Romano cheese and finally, I lightly sprinkled the top of the casserole with Italian bread crumbs. The dish disappeared in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This turned out great. The only changes I made was add some fresh basil and I halved the butter and put some olive oil instead. The Romano cheese really adds a great flavor to the recipe. I've never enjoyed an all vegetarian casserole as much as I have enjoyed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I really liked this. I had an abundance of veggies so I added fresh basil and purple bell pepper. I used mozz. cheese since that's what I had. It's delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this dish for my husband and my friend(who is vegetarian). Their reactions to it were phenomenal! Everyone simply loved it! It was such a beautiful dish. I ended up tweaking it slightly: No onions, no butter (cause it's healthier), and 6 cheese Italian, and Italian herb seasoning grinder. I added the seasoning for each layer. I would defiantly cook this again! Such a rich and beautiful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is very good. My husband and I enjoyed it quite a bit. I did not have any yellow squash so I just used Zucchini. I will definitely use this recipe again and I will share it with family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Very watery and needs some more seasoning a bit bland. I think if you add some fresh basil or something it would make it a lot better. But overall not too bad. easy to make but a bit cime consuming cutting up everything. also used plum tomatoes instead of regular and added red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States