Squash and Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Delicious! I use spray my pan with Pam and leave out the butter. I sprinkle the veggies with some italian seasoning and minced garlic. During cooking you may have to drain the pan a couple of times. After it's done I sprinkle everything with parmesan vs. romano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Great recipe! I didn't have tomatoes, so substituted diced canned tomatoes. I also substituted olive oil for butter. Since there are only two of us, I halved the recipe and had plenty to spare! The flavor was great but much too watery. Next time I will drain the matoes and cook the dish uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I'm not a huge fan of Zucchini and Squash, but thought I'd try this recipe for my husband. He absolutely loved it. I made more than the original recipe for a family dinner and had leftovers. He said this was even better heated up the next day. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
My boys are not fans of tomatoe in veggies so I made a few alterations. First, omitted the tomatoes so to make up for the loss of flavor, I caremlized the onions before layering. I cut the veggies into slices rather than lengthwise for more even cooking. I substituted a mix of Mozzarella (2/3) and cheddar (1/3) for the Romano cheese and finally, I lightly sprinkled the top of the casserole with Italian bread crumbs. The dish disappeared in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This turned out great. The only changes I made was add some fresh basil and I halved the butter and put some olive oil instead. The Romano cheese really adds a great flavor to the recipe. I've never enjoyed an all vegetarian casserole as much as I have enjoyed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I really liked this. I had an abundance of veggies so I added fresh basil and purple bell pepper. I used mozz. cheese since that's what I had. It's delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this dish for my husband and my friend(who is vegetarian). Their reactions to it were phenomenal! Everyone simply loved it! It was such a beautiful dish. I ended up tweaking it slightly: No onions, no butter (cause it's healthier), and 6 cheese Italian, and Italian herb seasoning grinder. I added the seasoning for each layer. I would defiantly cook this again! Such a rich and beautiful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is very good. My husband and I enjoyed it quite a bit. I did not have any yellow squash so I just used Zucchini. I will definitely use this recipe again and I will share it with family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Very watery and needs some more seasoning a bit bland. I think if you add some fresh basil or something it would make it a lot better. But overall not too bad. easy to make but a bit cime consuming cutting up everything. also used plum tomatoes instead of regular and added red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
We were looking for a nice veggie dish for a get together and found this. We had no ramano cheese so we substituted pepper jack. I did put rice as a bed and placed a mixture of fresh sliced jalapenos and Rotel to the middle layer. This gave it a nice kick. The dish was an instant hit with me (I like it hot!) my wife also made one according to the recipe subbing pepper jack as well and had a lot of juice so the rice bed really helps. Thanks for all your tips as you helped me with some creative thought and heads up! By the way the casseroles were a hit and all we brought home were empty dishes! We will make this a regular in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States