Squash and Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I like squash & zucchini but my husband doesn't so I am always looking for different recipes. Because some reviews complained of blandness I used canned diced tomatoes with basil, oregano & garlic instead of sliced tomatoes. I covered it and cooked it for 20 minutes and then used a bulb baster to remove excess liquid, covered it and baked for another 15 minutes, removed more liquid then baked for a final 15 minutes covered. It was cooked through and not to soggy. My husband liked it alot and is actually looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
My husband really liked this dish. I think I added too much pepper. I added both black pepper and banana pepper. I did not add butter between each layer because that seemed too unhealthy instead I added just a little veggie oil (maybe 2-3 tbps) between the middle layer. I also used parmesan cheese throughout and sharp shedder on the last two layers. I used italian spiced Mrs. dash between layers which gave the dish great flavoring. I think the dish needed too many adjustments for 4 stars, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flavor7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
great way to use squash and zucchini! I didn't use the tomatoes because I didn't have any, but i think it would have made this dish a 5 star for sure! thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Delicious! I added in two roasted poblano peppers and the flavors went excellent. On the advice of one of the other reviewers I did add some garlic powder between layers. I don't know how good it would have been without the fresh vegetables - but certainly worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is a very delicious dish. I have made it twice. The first time I made it, I followed the instructions and layered the squash, zuchinni, onion, and tomatoes. Then I read the "pats of butter between each layer" part. Too late to do that. So the second time I made this I kept that in mind. I also did not slice the zuchinni lenthwise the second time, and it was much easier to eat with them sliced as regular slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Johns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
After reading other reviews, I added oregano and basil for more flavor, topped the vegetables with bread crumbs, and decreased the butter. I still, however, found this to be too soupy and lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cayce, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Very yummy! I made a few changes for our family's taste. I used Mozzarella cheese instead of Ricotta, used half the amount of butter and sprinkled garlic powder on each layer. I save the leftover juice and use it as a soup base or steam my other veggies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
eh ... missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
A few things, this recipe yields far more than 5 servings, as I ended up having to go to a second casserole dish. Also, do not cover it as the juices won't evaporate and therefore it will be really watery when you get ready to serve it. Also, this isn't really ideal for a vegetarian as it is really difficult to call a serving of this a meal, it's more of a side dish. With that being said, it was simple to make, and was tastey. I just needed to bake it again without it being covered so that I could get rid of some juices. It really did taste great. In the future if I make it I'll make it with rice on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
my husband and i loved this--very good, and different!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States