Squash and Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was a great, easy alternative to a similar gratin I used to make every summer. I made some alterations, using parmesan instead of ramono, half the butter, and sprinkling every layer with garlic powder and basil on the squash layers. Served with brown rice drizzled in the juices from the casserole. Boyfriend went back for thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This casserole came out yummy and smelled so good when I took it out. The only change I made was to sprinkle a bit of shredded cheddar on top because I ran short on parmesan between the layers and covered it with foil for the first 20 mins. I took the foil off for the last 10 mins and let it get brown and bubbly. Kids ate it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
To prevent having too much water, salt the squash and zucchini heavily and allow to sit for 30 minutes, then rinse. It takes out much of the excess water. Also, be sure to seed the tomatoes. Finally, I like to add a little tomato paste to the mixture to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I think this recipe would be awesome if you made it mediterranean style!!! Omit the butter and drizzle some olive oil and basil; double the tomatoes (I squeezed the tomatoes a tad to get rid of some juices!); and load on some fresh garlic or garlic powder! YUM! We made this recipe as noted but only did 2 TBS of butter, served it over rice and added garlic powder and soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was an excellent recipe for all the squash and zucchini that you never know what to do with! I added some feta cheese and mozzarella to the top and it was fantastic! The first time I made it, I didn't have enough tomato, so used a can of diced tomatoes. Make sure you drain it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Need to remember to wring the water out of the vegetables next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Truly a family favorite! I made some changes: I add different veggies every time I make this meal, depending on what I have in stock (sometimes I add mushrooms, eggplant, ect). Also, I think the key to the wonderful flavor is that I add fresh basil leaves and layer them across on top of the onion. I also sprinkle red pepper flakes, garlic powder, and ground pepper to add to the taste. I then pour pasta sauce all over and sprinkle a bit of mozzarella on top. To me, this is like a delicious vegetarian/pasta-less lasagna. Serve it with a crsipy bread and a nice green salad. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I'm a vegetarian and I'm always looking to turn side dishes into meals. To turn this dish into a meal I chopped the zuchhini and squash up into little pieces, added sweet onion, peas, and Quorn brand meatless "chicken" chunks and covered with cheddar cheese and bread crumbs. It was so delicious and moist from all the water already in the squash and zuchhini I didn't need to add any butter! And it was so flavorful I really didn't need any salt or pepper. One of my veggie favorites!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Was alittle leary about the tomatoes and cheese but added it... was very delicious. Can't wait to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I had this years ago, and had to make it when I saw the recipe. It turned out delicious, even my sons enjoyed it. At least they are eating their vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States