Squash and Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I added butter rounds, but I love the layer effect. These dishes get thick fast, so use only a few ingredients. I was left with left over squash and zucchini. I thought of adding eggs also, and a few other things, but wanted to give this recipe a fair shake. I also like Sarah used Mozzarella cheese instead, which I HIGHLY recommend. (it's thick, binding, and reacts well to abuse.) Recipes like this are excellent for experimentation. They are building blocks for personalization. If it's to "runny" then drain it half way. If it's to dry, then take it out early. If it's not spicy, then go insane. Add spices and a select fish/chicken meat! This is a basic and you almost can't go wrong unless you let it burn or give up. **Note these veggies hold a lot of water you will have to deal with or utilize them to your own liking. Manipulate. spices, additional ingredients like mushrooms, or even canned condensed soups could be added to change this to your liking. This is simply a building block, EXPERIMENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Survivalist -Crutch-

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I had some frozen zucchini and yellow squash to use and tried this recipe. My husband doesn't like tomatoes, so I left those out. It was so good and easy to make! I did add some Italian seasoning with each layer for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rowan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I cut down on the zucchini in this recipe. I only used 2 medium zucchinis. Everyone really liked this recipe for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Good flavor, but too watery for my taste. I baked uncovered, but still had lots of water at the bottom. I sprinkled a bit of garlic powder on each layer along with the salt and pepper, which added a nice hint of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I halved everything except the cheese and still got 4 servings. It would have been way too bland without the extra cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Was good but felt like it was missing something. Will probably play around with this one some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I make this as well except I don't add cheese until after it's out of the oven. It is watery because of the veggies, just drain water off, top with your choice of cheese, I use velveeta because it's creamier. Take back to oven until cheese is melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Country Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Very good! I did not have Romano cheese so I used Parmesan cheese instead and it turned out awesome. Put Parmesan and butter on each layer yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Used this recipe for a church picnic yesterday. It was delicious and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Awesome and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States