Squash and Zucchini Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Made this great recipe for my Cinco De Mayo Bunco Group this month. Great reviews, so healthy. Doubled the recipe to feed everyone. It was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madquilt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
These made a great vegetarian meal with summer garden produce. I grated 1 carrot instead of using summer squash. I used 1/4 tsp cayenne since I have small children who don't eat spicy foods. I also used about 6 oz shredded cheese total. I put the filling in smaller tortillas, rolled them, and poured the rest of the filling over them in a baking dish. I topped that with about 1/2 cup sour cream mixed with 1/2 cup green salsa and about 3/4 cup shredded cheese. Then, I baked as per the directions. They ended up more like an enchilada, but really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
What a great and unique way to use the bulk zucchini from our garden! These were a hit with everyone in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very tasty twist on standard mexi-night in our house, and a great way to take advantage of the abundance of inexpensive veggies this time of year at our farmer's market! I didn't see any need to put them in the oven though, as the bean/zucc mixture was plenty hot to melt the cheese right inside the tortilla. Didn't have red bells, so just used green, and I also added big handfuls of fresh cilantro to them. (WIN!) After grating the zucc & squash, I pressed as much liquid out of them as I could. I also used a heaping spoonful of the "Taco Seasoning I" recipe on here during the last simmer of the beans/zucc/salsa. With a plop of sour cream, the cilantro, and the additional seasoning, this was a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Awesome! The only thing I changed was subbing in whole grain tortillas. My g/f HATES veggies and she cleaned her plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Jennings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I cook for a crew of 10 guys and WoW they absolutely loved this! I kept getting compliment after compliment I cooked mexican rice along with this and they just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montanagal78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Tasty veggie burrito and good way of getting kids to eat veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I loved these burritos, and they were even better re-warmed the next day in the microwave (1-2 min). One of my carnivores wasn't thrilled with them, but the others gave a thumbs up. I used 1 tsp cumin (because I always double the cumin in recipes) and added 1/2 tsp. Mexican spice blend. I also added cilantro in with the veggies before rolling up the burritos. My salsa was medium hot and with the cayenne and other spices, the heat/spice level was good for a family meal. Served them with guacamole and sour cream on the side. A fruit salad and Mexican style rice rounded out the meal. Great recipe find! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Really great taste, simple to make, and my family of carnivores were okay with no meat. I really, really loved this. Just delicious! Will make this again and share the recipe. Changes: Substituted cooked dried black beans instead of canned. As we live in an area with a lot of Mexican groceries, I picked up homemade salsa verde at the store. The salsa verde I used kicked up the fire level. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I'll admit it: I made this recipe with some hesitation....I don't like squash....I'm kind of so-so with zucchini.....but I was in a pinch and I needed a veggie recipe.....and it was AMAZING! How amazing? We fought over who was getting the leftovers and my meat and potatoes Dad had to have thirds! This recipe is now in weekly rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States