Squash and Zucchini Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very tasty twist on standard mexi-night in our house, and a great way to take advantage of the abundance of inexpensive veggies this time of year at our farmer's market! I didn't see any need to put them in the oven though, as the bean/zucc mixture was plenty hot to melt the cheese right inside the tortilla. Didn't have red bells, so just used green, and I also added big handfuls of fresh cilantro to them. (WIN!) After grating the zucc & squash, I pressed as much liquid out of them as I could. I also used a heaping spoonful of the "Taco Seasoning I" recipe on here during the last simmer of the beans/zucc/salsa. With a plop of sour cream, the cilantro, and the additional seasoning, this was a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I cook for a crew of 10 guys and WoW they absolutely loved this! I kept getting compliment after compliment I cooked mexican rice along with this and they just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montanagal78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
These made a great vegetarian meal with summer garden produce. I grated 1 carrot instead of using summer squash. I used 1/4 tsp cayenne since I have small children who don't eat spicy foods. I also used about 6 oz shredded cheese total. I put the filling in smaller tortillas, rolled them, and poured the rest of the filling over them in a baking dish. I topped that with about 1/2 cup sour cream mixed with 1/2 cup green salsa and about 3/4 cup shredded cheese. Then, I baked as per the directions. They ended up more like an enchilada, but really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Very tasty, Make sure to get rid of excess liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
What a great and unique way to use the bulk zucchini from our garden! These were a hit with everyone in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
OMG, this is one of my favorite recipes. I made a few changes just for personal preference. I used spicy pasta sauce instead of grn salsa, added some to the bottom of the pan. I only used about 4 oz. of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Awesome! The only thing I changed was subbing in whole grain tortillas. My g/f HATES veggies and she cleaned her plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Jennings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Great recipe. Shredding made a big difference to those that did not like zuccinni or squash that much. I only had taco shells so I crumbled them and added filling, taco crumbles and cheese in layers. Then baked. I also substituted Vegan Cheese to lower the cholesterol. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I'm trying to cook vegetarian a few times a week, so I was happy to find this recipe. Made these last night (added a couple fresh chopped jalepenos to the vegetables and used Trader Joes whole wheat flour tortillas). My family gobbled them up and my husband said "Definitely make these again!!" Thanks for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrisMac
Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Have to admit - I was a little bit hesistant to try this - but am SOOOO glad we did!! We had too much squash coming out of our garden, which is how I stumbled across this recipe. It really was fantastic and my husband didn't even realize he was only eating veggies!! Definitely a keeper for my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini Patties

Change up your breakfast routine with these zucchini pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States