Squash and Zucchini Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Thank you HSICO!! I didn't think this recipe sounded good but had zucchini and squash that I needed to use and I had most of the other ingredients so I gave it a try. I was pleasantly surprised, it was absolutely delicious!! I think that the suggestion by other reviewers to get as much moisture out of the squash/zucchini was important to the texture of the finished dish. Thanks, I wouldn't have thought of that. I did make a few changes. I didn't have salsa on hand so I used a can of fire roasted crushed tomatoes and added a poblano pepper and cilantro. I only used a fraction of the cheese for heath reasons. In my opinion I think this recipe would be even better as written. I will certainly make it again. I have already shared this recipe with friends and family. I bet the ones with gardens and too much zucchini will thank me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Love these more than meat burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Made this great recipe for my Cinco De Mayo Bunco Group this month. Great reviews, so healthy. Doubled the recipe to feed everyone. It was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madquilt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I'll admit it: I made this recipe with some hesitation....I don't like squash....I'm kind of so-so with zucchini.....but I was in a pinch and I needed a veggie recipe.....and it was AMAZING! How amazing? We fought over who was getting the leftovers and my meat and potatoes Dad had to have thirds! This recipe is now in weekly rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Really great taste, simple to make, and my family of carnivores were okay with no meat. I really, really loved this. Just delicious! Will make this again and share the recipe. Changes: Substituted cooked dried black beans instead of canned. As we live in an area with a lot of Mexican groceries, I picked up homemade salsa verde at the store. The salsa verde I used kicked up the fire level. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I loved these burritos, and they were even better re-warmed the next day in the microwave (1-2 min). One of my carnivores wasn't thrilled with them, but the others gave a thumbs up. I used 1 tsp cumin (because I always double the cumin in recipes) and added 1/2 tsp. Mexican spice blend. I also added cilantro in with the veggies before rolling up the burritos. My salsa was medium hot and with the cayenne and other spices, the heat/spice level was good for a family meal. Served them with guacamole and sour cream on the side. A fruit salad and Mexican style rice rounded out the meal. Great recipe find! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Tasty veggie burrito and good way of getting kids to eat veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Didn't have any peppers or green salsa, so improvised and used as a side dish. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
OMG, this is one of my favorite recipes. I made a few changes just for personal preference. I used spicy pasta sauce instead of grn salsa, added some to the bottom of the pan. I only used about 4 oz. of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Great recipe. Shredding made a big difference to those that did not like zuccinni or squash that much. I only had taco shells so I crumbled them and added filling, taco crumbles and cheese in layers. Then baked. I also substituted Vegan Cheese to lower the cholesterol. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States