Squash and Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is a delicious recipe, but the preparation is a big pain!! I haven't figured out an easy way to peel and slice the squash. Also, there are so many different pots and pans and bowls needed for the prep, that cleaning up is as much work as making the dish. Overall, it is one of the yummiest recipes that we make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Oster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Key West Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
To be as Low Cal as it is, it's very good! I used Zucchini and Yellow Squash, added some Crushed Red Pepper and then sprinkled Mozzarella on as a finisher. Included a side of steamed baby carrots with rosemary. Will have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Key West Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I genuinely enjoyed the flavor of this dish. However, the top layer of squash just did not cook thru even after adding 10 minutes to the cooking time. In order to ensure that we didn't dry out the pork we ended up cooking the top squash in the microwave after removing it from the oven. Our slices were about 1/4inch thick following the suggestions of not over cooking and the layer UNDER the pork was done perfectly. I will plan to make this again, probably with more broth mixture to give moisture/steam for cooking the squash or maybe putting all the squash under the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Absolutely delicious! We used an extra squash and it is so worth it to make your own sauce with this dish. The flavors are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Cut the squash 1/2 inch and used my turkey broth from Thanksgiving that had mustard and lemon in it. That mustard flavor gave it a special kick to it. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was a good dish. I took the advice of others and cut my squash a bit thicker which worked out well. I trimmed this down to a dish for two and used a small acorn squash. We will do this again :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
not bad but not great either. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
this is the 2nd time i have made this dish using your recipe and i absalutly love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Reduced serving to two but used whole squash. Halved squash and cooked 2min. in microwave to make peeling the squash easier. Added ginger & thyme to flour mixture, to dust pork, before brownig. Layerd 2cups cooked wild rice, cooked in sodium free beef broth for flavor. Doubled butter/spice mixture to pour over top to add some extra flavor to the rice. Will make again with my minor adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States