Squash and Coconut Milk Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Like many other users, I browned my tofu before proceeding with the recipe and added salt, plus soy sauce and chili paste at the table. Served it with jasmine rice and peanuts. (Frozen, French-cut green beans works.) The whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Good base recipe, but kind of bland. I added an extra can of coconut milk, a LOT of extra garlic and ginger, a diced red pepper, a small amount of fish sauce, and a pinch of cayenne. I also served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talkn3rdytome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I'm on an anti-inflammatory, vegetarian diet with no nightshades (arthritis). Wow, this recipe tastes great and is versatile. You can make your favorite modifications. Mine: as another reviewer suggested, replace sugar with apple slices. I added 1/8c chopped apple to onion sauté. Added cubed sweet potato and bok choy. I'm looking forward to trying basil or cilantro and some vegetable broth to make a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I really enjoy this recipe - the first time I made it using yellow squash as an alternative since it was summer and in abundance in my garden. It came out GREAT...so flavorful and was more like a soup. Even my mother who is an amazing cook (dinner parties galore and what not) said, "you made this? It's great...you will have to give me the recipe." Another time I made it I followed the ingredients using the acorn squash and it was thicker and more like a stew. I preferred it with the yellow squash instead...was more flavorful! Also, I added extra coconut milk. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Pretty tasty! I omitted the sugar and put in a diced apple--tastes just fine. I also left out the tofu and used a pound of seafood mix (calamari, shrimp, octopus, etc). I was worried about there not being enough coconut milk at first so I added a few glugs of chicken broth (less than 1/4 cup). The squash really breaks down into a nice stew-like consistency if you simmer it long enough--not stringy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Delicious! Using a buttercup squash I made it as directed EXCEPT I omitted the tofu and added a few threads of saffron. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I've made this several times now, it's so comforting and delicious. I've used light coconut milk as well as half regular coconut milk mixed with half skim milk, and both turned out well (though light coco milk was a bit on the soupy side). I don't think that the sugar is needed, also, I omit the tofu and add some cut up pieces of fish filet (like tilapia or salmon) during the last 10 minutes. I've also used butternut instead of acorn squash, and it tasted pretty similar. This is one of the few dishes I've found where coconut milk is not used to make a curry. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Different but quiet tasty. I made as directed but I had to substitute sweet potatoes for the acorn squash because that's what I had on hand and I left out the shrimp as I don't eat meat. I had never had anything like this so I wasn't sure what to expect. It tasted nice but when you put it over sticky rice...much better. It has a very mild flavor, only slightly sweet and is very creamy and soft tasting. I enjoyed it and will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissNikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I made as directed except for an additional can of coconut milk to make it more soupy. My family generally liked it and I thought it was great with the addition of a little sri ra cha chili sauce in my bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was okay. I would eat it again but not make it again myself. We did prefer it a bit soupy and served it over rice. We don't eat tofu, so I omitted that. My young children ate it because it was not heavily spiced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States