Squash and Apple Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I recently started a low sodium diet, and this was the first recipe I tried. I thought it was good, but as others have stated it's a little bland. Of course, I'm still adjusting to restricted sodium, so everything seems bland. Ha! The yogurt definitely helped. I'm thinking next time I will add more apples and maybe leave out the potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Super healthy, super hearty! The picture doesn't do it justice. I did not add apple cider and next time I would add an extra apple. I also used less ginger and sprinkled a 1/2 tsp to tsp of salt. When I served it, I sprinkled cinammon. It brings out the flavor of apples. If you are dieting, this is a great recipe to eat and feel full!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made this on a crisp fall evening for a light dinner.I omitted the potato cause I didn't have any, and used chicken broth instead of water, and added 1/2 t of salt and a T of seasoned rice vinegar.. I blended it in the pot with an immersion blender..no need for additional dirty dishes!Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years. I do not find it bland at all and I make it as stated except for adding a little extra ginger. As others have noted it is very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This soup was great!!!! Only changes: Not water, used chicken broth. Added 1tsp Cinnamon. And roasted squash for 45min at 400deg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I followed the advice of others to add some cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added 2 stalks of celery and 1 carrot, and substituted the water for chicken broth. I didn't bother adding yogurt at the end because I didn't have any. I LOVE this soup! It is so healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I used vegetable broth instead of water because of all the comments that it was bland. I enjoyed it, but I would prefer it more svavory than sweet. So, next time I will not add the brown sugar and maybe use some milk or cream in place of some of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattswife1123

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I roasted the squash and apples first and used a ton more spices per everyone's suggestions. This is a total crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiera
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Delicious =) Very filling and the perfect addition to a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I loved this recipe! In response to all those reviews about flavor, just add a teaspoon or so of cinnamon and maybe half or a quarter teaspoon of nutmeg. You'll be able to smell it when you have the right combo of spices, it will smell like apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States