Squash and Apple Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars even though I’ve never made it. This afternoon I was cooking my leftover butternut squash on the stove with onion, carrots, and chicken broth. As it was simmering, I browsed through other recipes that contained butternut squash and found this one. The next thing I knew I was adding apples, ginger, and a pear I had kicking around! I adjusted the liquid with some h20 and seasoned it with salt pepper and sage, let it cook down and pureed it. It was absolutely delicious. Thank you for the idea of adding fruit. I’m excited to see what else I can throw in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
I made this recipe and was so impressed with it's texture and taste. A small bowl filled me up and satisfied me for hours. I used granny smith apples and couldn't believe the flavor of this soup! Great source of both fiber and vitamin c!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I followed the advice of others to add some cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added 2 stalks of celery and 1 carrot, and substituted the water for chicken broth. I didn't bother adding yogurt at the end because I didn't have any. I LOVE this soup! It is so healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This is just an outstanding recipe tho I did have to make some substitutions like with the butter for low fat and such and I did not have fresh ginger so I did use ground. Also I did not have apple cider and so I used pear juice which I did have and as for the yogurt I had vanilla low fat. And the squash I I had a buttercup squash but I tell you I put all that together and it came out the greatest soup. One thing is for sure you really must have the yogurt garnish or it will be bland. Oh, also I did not have white pepper I had a mixture of peppercorns and ground those fresh and used that instead. If you love squash you must try this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I loved this recipe! In response to all those reviews about flavor, just add a teaspoon or so of cinnamon and maybe half or a quarter teaspoon of nutmeg. You'll be able to smell it when you have the right combo of spices, it will smell like apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
this soup is amazing! ive been making it since early falla nd all thru winter, i have containers upon containers of it in the freezer! filling deeelicious and low in cals. I dont use the cream suggested in it and it is still amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This soup was great!!!! Only changes: Not water, used chicken broth. Added 1tsp Cinnamon. And roasted squash for 45min at 400deg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Super healthy, super hearty! The picture doesn't do it justice. I did not add apple cider and next time I would add an extra apple. I also used less ginger and sprinkled a 1/2 tsp to tsp of salt. When I served it, I sprinkled cinammon. It brings out the flavor of apples. If you are dieting, this is a great recipe to eat and feel full!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
DELICIOUS! At first I wasn't too thrilled... however, after a day of refridgeration, this has become my favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I recently started a low sodium diet, and this was the first recipe I tried. I thought it was good, but as others have stated it's a little bland. Of course, I'm still adjusting to restricted sodium, so everything seems bland. Ha! The yogurt definitely helped. I'm thinking next time I will add more apples and maybe leave out the potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States