Squash and Apple Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
I made this recipe and was so impressed with it's texture and taste. A small bowl filled me up and satisfied me for hours. I used granny smith apples and couldn't believe the flavor of this soup! Great source of both fiber and vitamin c!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This recipe calls for no seasoning other than ginger and white pepper, leaving this soup VERY bland if you don't at least add salt. This is why I only gave it 4 stars. I sauteed a clove of garlic with the onion, and added salt to taste. I stirred in a bit of butter before serving, as well, to give it a fuller flavor. My guests really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This is just an outstanding recipe tho I did have to make some substitutions like with the butter for low fat and such and I did not have fresh ginger so I did use ground. Also I did not have apple cider and so I used pear juice which I did have and as for the yogurt I had vanilla low fat. And the squash I I had a buttercup squash but I tell you I put all that together and it came out the greatest soup. One thing is for sure you really must have the yogurt garnish or it will be bland. Oh, also I did not have white pepper I had a mixture of peppercorns and ground those fresh and used that instead. If you love squash you must try this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I loved this recipe! In response to all those reviews about flavor, just add a teaspoon or so of cinnamon and maybe half or a quarter teaspoon of nutmeg. You'll be able to smell it when you have the right combo of spices, it will smell like apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I roasted the squash and apples first and used a ton more spices per everyone's suggestions. This is a total crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years. I do not find it bland at all and I make it as stated except for adding a little extra ginger. As others have noted it is very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This soup was great!!!! Only changes: Not water, used chicken broth. Added 1tsp Cinnamon. And roasted squash for 45min at 400deg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiera
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Delicious =) Very filling and the perfect addition to a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I followed the advice of others to add some cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added 2 stalks of celery and 1 carrot, and substituted the water for chicken broth. I didn't bother adding yogurt at the end because I didn't have any. I LOVE this soup! It is so healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I used vegetable broth instead of water because of all the comments that it was bland. I enjoyed it, but I would prefer it more svavory than sweet. So, next time I will not add the brown sugar and maybe use some milk or cream in place of some of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattswife1123

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States