Squash and Apple Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
DELICIOUS! At first I wasn't too thrilled... however, after a day of refridgeration, this has become my favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This is just an outstanding recipe tho I did have to make some substitutions like with the butter for low fat and such and I did not have fresh ginger so I did use ground. Also I did not have apple cider and so I used pear juice which I did have and as for the yogurt I had vanilla low fat. And the squash I I had a buttercup squash but I tell you I put all that together and it came out the greatest soup. One thing is for sure you really must have the yogurt garnish or it will be bland. Oh, also I did not have white pepper I had a mixture of peppercorns and ground those fresh and used that instead. If you love squash you must try this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Good but not great, my husband added lots of salt and pepper and I added a lot of garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This recipe calls for no seasoning other than ginger and white pepper, leaving this soup VERY bland if you don't at least add salt. This is why I only gave it 4 stars. I sauteed a clove of garlic with the onion, and added salt to taste. I stirred in a bit of butter before serving, as well, to give it a fuller flavor. My guests really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This soup is good. We wanted it to be a little bit savory so we doubled the white pepper and added garlic, sea salt and garam masala - all to taste. This gave us just enough savory to compliment the wonderful sweetness and added a hint of spice as well. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars even though I’ve never made it. This afternoon I was cooking my leftover butternut squash on the stove with onion, carrots, and chicken broth. As it was simmering, I browsed through other recipes that contained butternut squash and found this one. The next thing I knew I was adding apples, ginger, and a pear I had kicking around! I adjusted the liquid with some h20 and seasoned it with salt pepper and sage, let it cook down and pureed it. It was absolutely delicious. Thank you for the idea of adding fruit. I’m excited to see what else I can throw in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
This was pretty good. I added some cream to it also. It tasted better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
this soup is amazing! ive been making it since early falla nd all thru winter, i have containers upon containers of it in the freezer! filling deeelicious and low in cals. I dont use the cream suggested in it and it is still amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Not a very good recipe! VERY VERY tasteless! Disappointed - I tried to doctor it to make it more tasty but nothing seemed to work and I ended up throwing most of it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Not much deep flavor. I tried adding more brown sugar and more pepper, but it was still too bland. I have other squash soup recipes that I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States