Squash and Apple Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I recently started a low sodium diet, and this was the first recipe I tried. I thought it was good, but as others have stated it's a little bland. Of course, I'm still adjusting to restricted sodium, so everything seems bland. Ha! The yogurt definitely helped. I'm thinking next time I will add more apples and maybe leave out the potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Super healthy, super hearty! The picture doesn't do it justice. I did not add apple cider and next time I would add an extra apple. I also used less ginger and sprinkled a 1/2 tsp to tsp of salt. When I served it, I sprinkled cinammon. It brings out the flavor of apples. If you are dieting, this is a great recipe to eat and feel full!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made this on a crisp fall evening for a light dinner.I omitted the potato cause I didn't have any, and used chicken broth instead of water, and added 1/2 t of salt and a T of seasoned rice vinegar.. I blended it in the pot with an immersion blender..no need for additional dirty dishes!Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years. I do not find it bland at all and I make it as stated except for adding a little extra ginger. As others have noted it is very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This soup was great!!!! Only changes: Not water, used chicken broth. Added 1tsp Cinnamon. And roasted squash for 45min at 400deg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I followed the advice of others to add some cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added 2 stalks of celery and 1 carrot, and substituted the water for chicken broth. I didn't bother adding yogurt at the end because I didn't have any. I LOVE this soup! It is so healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I used vegetable broth instead of water because of all the comments that it was bland. I enjoyed it, but I would prefer it more svavory than sweet. So, next time I will not add the brown sugar and maybe use some milk or cream in place of some of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattswife1123

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I roasted the squash and apples first and used a ton more spices per everyone's suggestions. This is a total crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiera
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Delicious =) Very filling and the perfect addition to a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I loved this recipe! In response to all those reviews about flavor, just add a teaspoon or so of cinnamon and maybe half or a quarter teaspoon of nutmeg. You'll be able to smell it when you have the right combo of spices, it will smell like apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States